09
Sep
11

Covered?! We don’t need no stinkin’ covered!!! (part 2 of 2)

   Ok. Enough blah-blah last time.  Here’s my cover of Twilight Avenger #2 (Aug 1988):

   If you’ve never read TWILIGHT AVENGER, well…don’t break your neck trying to find copies of it or anything.  It’s a cute Rocketeer/Sandman Mystery Theatre sorta comic. I just have a lot of fond memories of discovering it in the quarter bins at conventions as a kid and hunting down all the issues of it I could find. Plus TA’s lady friend ends up exposing a lot of T&A in the course of the series, which was probably my 13-year-old me’s primary motivation.  Anyhooooo…here’s my final cover–TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES/FLAMING CARROT CROSSOVER #3 (Jan 1994):

   Even though Flaming Carrot creator BOB BURDEN wrote this mini-series, he didn’t draw it (*sounds of me crying like an infant*).  Hated TMNT artist Jim Lawson drew some it (to be fair, I’m sure I’d love his art now. He was ‘hated’ back when I was young and dumb and thought Jack Kirby was terrible too), but NEIL VOKES whose art I just loved on JACK KIRBY’S TEENAGENTS (from TOPPS Comics. Remember them? Me neither.) came in and drew an issue or two of it too. 

     Ok…I’ll be back next time with a forgotten TOMMY CHICAGO short by BRIAN BASTIAN and myself.  And then we begin the march to MIX with…SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE!!!

2 Responses to “Covered?! We don’t need no stinkin’ covered!!! (part 2 of 2)”


  1. 03/07/2016 at 14:59

    Nice job Staple Genius! I like it! Terry Tidwell ( co creator of the Twiight Avenger)

  2. 2 Bill Cunningham
    03/09/2016 at 14:47

    You can get the 1st three issues here (along with plenty of bonus material) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1507727372/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


