22
Dec
10

Manly Tales of Cowardice #7–part 11(of 12)–with special guest: CARL NELSON’s ‘Danger Dentz LLC’!

    THREE THINGS:

1)  The guy getting tossed out of the car is TANHAUSER DENTZ of ‘DANGER DENTZ TEAM LLC’, a hilarious comic created by cartoonist CARL NELSON  on 24 Hour Comic Day 2008.    A comic created literally right across from me!  A comic Carl did as an homage to MANLY TALES itself!!!  Basically what Carl did with the character of Dentz was to take Fleming Hazmat and turn him up to 11.  The results are often uncomfortably delightful!  Dentz’s sidekicks are souls as wretchedly put-upon as Betsy and Atlantis Lad’s turned up to pi! It’s awesome.  Equally as awesome was Carl’s contribution to LUTEFISK SUSHI D– ‘MALE-MAN and the CHAMPIONS OF PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING’!!!  It’s touching and bittersweet (and f*ing hilarious) homage to HE-MAN.  You’ll never look at SKELETOR the same way again after you read it.  Genius!  At any rate, perhaps one day Hazmat and Dentz may have to match wits again (just pretend I didn’t kill him there).

#2)  THE ‘DANGER DENTZ LLC’ PIN-UP– So, yeah…I did one.  Here it is!

#3)  THE CAR– That stupid car…When I started MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE I was being very lazy.  I just drew things and ran with it and gave it no thought.  The way I drew Flemings mansion and his FLYING HAZMAT were made up on the spot….and then I was stuck with them when it came time to do issue 2.  So this issue was about trashing my lack of foresight and seeing what else I could do.  What I did was draw a Matchbox drag racer I’ve had and loved since I was a kid.  IT’S A F*ING MATCHBOX ROCKET CAR!  It’s so cool.  Only the Superman flying  car the the punching fists that Josh Reznicow had was better in the world of Matchbox.   Anyway…I instantly hated drawing this car.  Oopsie on destroying the Flying Hazmat I guess.  Perhaps a Shatner/Enterprise-A-esque teary-eyed reunion are in order soon…

0 Responses to “Manly Tales of Cowardice #7–part 11(of 12)–with special guest: CARL NELSON’s ‘Danger Dentz LLC’!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


