08
Sep
10

14yogamats 2–by Dan Murphy and myself–part 1(of 4)

Seriously, how cool is it that 14 Year Old Genetically-Altered Martial-Arts Trained Slugs works out to be 14Yogamats???  Anyway, that is probably a lot cooler than what you’re about to endure…A MOVIE PARODY!!!

**   Again–JUST LOOK AT THAT COVER!  My longest-time collaborator DAN MURPHY has had the goods since the start! 

**  MN comic fans will instantly recognize SHINDERS as a haven of 80’s and 90’s suburban nerdiness.  I think at the time we did this the SHINDERS in our ‘burb had just opened…AND CHANGED OUR LIVES!!!  Before this there were 4 separate convenience-marts I would bike to every week to get what was new, and then–like MAGIC!!!–it was all in one place.  That was the last time I ever exercised.

**  Can you find the one glaring inconsistency in these 3 pages?  Is it that Murphy forgot to draw one of the Slugs right off the bat?  NOPE!  It’s that I foolishly decided to draw the missing Slug myself instead of waiting 12 hours to see Murphy at school and have him do it.  I still think that my slug ruins what is a pretty nice page.

**  The posters in the bottom panel are all comic characters Murph and I did at the time.  I swear to god I will NOT post all that crap in the future.

3 Responses to “14yogamats 2–by Dan Murphy and myself–part 1(of 4)”


  1. 09/08/2010 at 10:57

    Are they bursting out of the adult room?

  2. 09/08/2010 at 15:11

    Oh, you know they are! That room was the sweetest forbidden fruit at that time in our lives. Obviously once I was working there 5 years later, it lost a lot of it’s charm.

  3. 09/08/2010 at 17:59

    I like your slug fill-in drawing, it’s a proto jam comic. I recall that Shinders having a Batman #3 up on the wall I’d stare at longingly whenever I was in there. I only ever saw men with comb-overs and Members-Only jackets coming out of the adult room, so I wasn’t sure I wanted to know what was behind the door. Stupor-Duck should never see the light of day, I’m not even sure what the “Stupor” referred to, was he dim? So many unanswered questions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


