18
Aug
10

Nostalgia file: “SPICEMARE!!!”

  At the LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘D’ show I displayed a lot of my older art–and by older I mean stuff I made in junior high.  It was a conscious choice to more or less skip everything from 11th grade up until about 2 years ago.  Not that I’m totally unproud of it all, I just more wanted to stress the idea that stuff I made when I was 14 had more or less the same tone as things I’m producing 20 years later.  Anyway, one of the more “modern” things to make the cut fell more or less right in the middle of that 20 year span.  See when I was 22 my roommates and I went thru an unhealthy period where we really liked the SPICE GIRLS–their music, videos, and movie.  It got so out of hand that it eventually invaded my REM sleep.  That in mind, may I now present SPICEMARE (based on two true dreams, with footnotes to follow the comic below):

   For those who might be interested, here is some historical context:

THE COVER:

**  I did indeed sleep on a mattress on the floor back then, though technically I slept the other way around.

PAGE 1:

**  To this day Mel C–aka SPORTY–denies she is a lesbian.   I was dating a lesbian at the time of this comics production.  That was the 90’s for you.

**  I’m not sure what’s up with the BABY SPICE thing (which even continued into the second dream on page 2).  She was just marginally ahead of GINGER as my least favorite Spice Girl (the official ranking was SCARY, POSH, SPORTY, BABY, GINGER).  Who knows how the brain works.

PAGE 2:

**  I used to have flying dreams all the time.  As a little kid I would even have them while I was awake.  I think I used to be a bird.

**  JILL was my roommate JOE’s girlfriend, and the person who originally infected us with the dreaded SPICE GIRLS virus (though MATT and I seeing the film together one afternoon sealed the deal).

**  STACY was great unrequited love of my life at the time (or to paraphrase the great KEVIN CANNON–my “LONG-CON”).

**  I did eventually get over the whole Spice Girls thing.  Though it was just always brimming under the surface.  Like when I met an actual British girl about 5 years later–another failed long-con–I couldn’t have been happier to have finally found a SCARY SPICE of my own.  And to this day I’ll still find myself doing things like putting LILY ALLEN songs on my iPod.  It’s all related, I’m sure.  Or a genetic deficiency.

   AND FOR THE LOVE OF THE 8-BIT GOD!!! If you are in MINNEAPOLIS tomorrow (THURSDAY, AUGUST 19th 2010), you MUST clear your scheduale for the following awesomeness I help co-organize:

5 Responses to “Nostalgia file: “SPICEMARE!!!””


  1. 08/18/2010 at 10:09

    My Spice Girl ranking is almost the exact opposite of yours. I don’t think we have any choice except for pistols at dawn.

  2. 4 Shloggs
    08/18/2010 at 11:14

    For the love of the cinematic gods and out of respect for Edgar Wright, please see this movie at a decent theater with a respectable sound system after you see it at this event.

    And oh yeah, that was awesome when we saw Spice Girls.

    • 08/18/2010 at 14:42

      I’m sure I’ll see it a few times–that $5 at Roseville AMC calls to me Mon-Thurs–begging me to see cinema and bash myself against rocks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


