23
Jun
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #6–pgs 2 & 3(of 27), also: “Mmm….planets….”

   The MATT OBLIVION origin continues… So a couple years ago my old friend MATT RISNES and I decided to celebrate his birthday the old-fashioned way–by seeing a film together.  This might not seem too special, but in this age of family and time commitment, having a few free hours to spend with an old friend is increasingly hard to find.  Anyway, Matt and I decided to take in the then fairly new (and totally awesome!) HELLBOY 2.  I was short on cash (as per my usual) so for Matt’s present I decided to make and frame him an original drawing.  In line with the theme for the day I was going to do him a Hellboy fighting C’thulhu (to me Matt is synonymous with C’thulhu.  That, and I had just finished the PLUNGER-MAN short with RYAN DOW.)  But as I sat down and started drawing out the body shape, I got it in my head that perhaps instead of Hellboy, I should have a Hellboy-ish Matt fighting old ‘hulhu.  So that’s what I did…and I think it turned out pretty sweet (INSERT IMAGE HERE.  …oh…I don’t have that…Matt does….nevermind). 

      Before I handed the drawing off to Matt my brain started racing–how could I work this monster-fighting Matt into the MANLY TALES canon???  Well the first thing he needed was a proper name, and in honor of one of Matt’s favorite films–VIDEODROME–MATT OBLIVION seemed appropriate.  Second, a back story–what about a REVERSE Hellboy (see yesterdays post)?!  And finally, where the heck could I work him in?  Well as it turned out I had finished the script for MANLY TALES #6 several weeks earlier, and to say I was unsatisfied with it was an understatement.  So as I do in these situations I set the script aside and left it up to my subconscious to do the heavy lifting.  AND LIFT IT DID!  Adding MATT OBLIVION to this issue, and making him the opener, was just what this issue needed.  The opening was good–and in fact I lifted it word for word and made it the opening of issue 7–but in line with what the rest of the issue is about I felt it needed more.  And MORE Matt Oblivion provided.  So I hope you enjoy Mr Oblivion in this issue…I have a suspicion he’ll be around for a while.

   ALSO:  Today’s Daily Goal Sketch is GALACTUS.  My client had added Galactus’ name to the ever-growing list of characters to draw pretty early on, and occasionally as he reviewed the list to see what was coming up in the following weeks and months he’d ask me a question of troubled concern:  “HOW ARE YOU GOING TO FIND  A SHEET OF PAPER BIG ENOUGH TO DRAW HIM ON?” I’d assure him it wouldn’t be to scale, and that seemed to both satisfy his worry and disappoint him all at the same time.  I should also note that this was the first DGS I did after both my client and I had returned from our conflicting vacations (it was the first new DGS drawing I had done in 3 weeks).  At this point I knew I was going to be leaving that job in 2 weeks, and made him aware of that.  I also decided F-IT!–  From there on out, these Daily Goal Sketches were going to be super awesome. 

1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #6–pgs 2 & 3(of 27), also: “Mmm….planets….””


  1. 06/23/2010 at 06:10

    I always wondered what the story was behind Matt Oblivion. For some reason, I thought he was a take on Matt Munn’s Zed Reckoning (until you told me he wasn’t).


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


