17
May
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #5–pgs 20 & 21(of 45), also: Matt Chicorel and I say “So Long, ‘LOST'” (part 1 of 2)

    I think the reason I enjoy doing humor comics so much is their dependance on TALKING.  I am pretty dreadful at doing believable, original, exciting action sequences (like how I highlighting Betsy’s right hook twice in two pages).  So…uhhh…get ready for a few more pages of that.  But worry not, “action” has been on my to-do list for a while, and MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #7 (now available!) was a big step towards getting better at it.

   ALSO:  As I mentioned last week, MATT CHICOREL and I did some ‘LOST’ pin-ups at last weekends SPRINGCON.  In a perfectly LOSTish twist of fate, after the con on Saturday Matt, BUD BURGY, and I went out and did some serious drinking for about 8 hours.  At one point we ended up at Nye’s where on a TV in the corner was none other than…LOST!  Matt then proceeded to teach me the LOST drinking game (You take a drink every time “Jack looks serious”,”Kate sucks”, “Sawyer says son of a bitch”, “Hurley is fat”, etc).  You can play along during the 2nd to last episode on TUESDAY, MAY 18th.  In the meantime, here’s the LOST pin-up I pencilled and Matt inked:

4 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #5–pgs 20 & 21(of 45), also: Matt Chicorel and I say “So Long, ‘LOST'” (part 1 of 2)”


  1. 05/17/2010 at 05:56

    I think you’re better at action than you give yourself credit for. And that LOST pin-up is great. I don’t even watch LOST and I love it!

  2. 05/17/2010 at 06:27

    Well thanks on both counts, Ryan! I think what really bugs me about this “action” sequence is that is drawn exactly as I thumbnailed it. But when I was thumbnailing it I was thinking “I’ll make it more dynamic when I actually draw it”. Of course when it came time to actually draw it I was more or less out of time and just went with what I already had. One day I’ll hire Lucasfilm to go in and fix it.

  3. 05/26/2010 at 10:07

    This Lost pin-up is one of the best drawings I have seen of you. Pretty Slick. I think you should team-up more often.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


