12
May
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #5–pgs 16 & 17(of 45), also: “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #7” @ Springcon

 

   OK…here we go…Like I’ve said a few times, this issue took a year to be finished from the time I initially wrote it, and here’s why:

   When I was planning out what the first 8 issues of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE were going to be, I knew I had to include my many cartooning friends in one way or another–be it pin-ups, back-up stories, or what have you.  I knew issue #5 was going to be a Betsy Rossbot origin tale, and I knew I wanted to involve my friend ERIK LAPPEGARD.  My proposal to Erik was that I wanted to include his VEGAN NINJA character in a fashion more or less like the one issue 5 ended up being, but to also include a back-up tale of the Vegan Ninja written and drawn by Erik.  Erik was cool with the idea of using the Vegan Ninja, but was unsure about the back-up story…so he came up with a better idea–Erik and I jam on the art for the main story of issue 5.  I’d write it and do the majority of the art, but Erik would do all art on the Vegan Ninja.  I thought this was genius, and was more excited than ever to get to work on it!  Unfortunately, I was just getting started on the series (I was pencilling issue 2 at this point, I believe), and it would be at least a year until I got to work on #5.  Even more unfortunately was that within a matter of weeks from this conversation Erik was involved in a terrible accident, and later passed from complications. 

    A year later I was done with issue #4, and so I wrote a script for issue #5 that was a loving tribute to my much-missed friend.  I then sat down and pounded out the pencilled pages.  And then I had to ink it…but I just couldn’t.  A lot of other projects came up and I did everything I could to keep myself from having to touch those pages with my brush pen.  Eventually months and months went by and FALLCON was approaching and I hadn’t finished a new issue of MANLY TALES in almost a year.  As hard as it was to do, and as much as I dreaded having to actually ink the pages posted above I finally buckled down and did the work.  I’m not going to lie–I cried several times while inking this issue.  Not only because I missed my friend, but because I wished more than ever he was there inking those pages with me (though technically Erik’s accident happened while en route to moving out to the west coast, so who knows how the hell that would have worked).

    On the bright side, Erik did a preliminary VEGAN NINJA pin-up that he gave to me just days before the aforementioned accident, and we were able to use said image to raise thousands of dollars for his parents (to help pay for lingering medical bills after he passed) at a hell of a party Erik would have loved:

   ALSO:  Speaking of the Vegan Ninja…SPRINGCON is this weekend (May 15th and 16th, 10am-5pm both days)!!!  My goal for any con is to have something new, and SPRINGCON is no different–in fact I have a few new somethings including the all-new MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #7! Among many things features an appearance by dear old Vegan Ninja (Uhh..Spoiler Alert?):

    AND FINALLY:  It took me 30-plus years to figure out that JACK KIRBY really was the King.  At this rate I’ll really be into Frazetta on my death bed.  Until then…”A FRANK FRAZETTA OF FRANK ZAPPA”:

3 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #5–pgs 16 & 17(of 45), also: “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #7” @ Springcon”


  1. 05/12/2010 at 14:41

    I can’t belive I made that same MST3K nerd reference to you on the phone last night before reading your latest blog post. I still have your VHS cassette tape of Red Zone Cuba if you need that back. I don’t want to give it back to you, but bringing it up will perhaps deflect your memory of the fact I still have your Watchmen graphic novel copy. Dammit! Whoops, if I’m not careful I’ll let slide that I also have your copy of Gore Vidal’s Creation and that I never read it. Oh well.

    • 05/12/2010 at 14:48

      Wow, I wish I had nearly as many of your possessions. I think at this point all I have is 3 copies of the first END TRANSMISSION cd, and at this point in time I think they are technically public domain.

      • 05/12/2010 at 15:09

        Was there ever a time when they weren’t public domain? I’d be glad to loan you some stuff that you’ll never return! I’ve got a VHS of the most criminally under rated horror film of all time, The Night Flier, with your name all over it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


