07
Apr
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 55 and 56(of 60), also: “It was around this time my lungs were aching for air”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on these closing chapters of the book:

BASTIAN:  Because of the differences in..well, logic, tone and physical laws between the Uptown Girl book and the other two, we had this ending for them to give Bob an out to say that it was just some sort of tainted meat fever dream for the gang, and because her wish was nothing solid, there wasn’t anything that would need to be referred to in the future. Although in my mind it really happened, and they’ll all meet again someday.

LIPSKI:  What a shock to come from Danno’s beautiful heavy inks to my weak line weights.  I never look back at what I’ve drawn, I’m always focusing on what I’m working on now or what’s next so it’s kind of…weird to look back on something I did over two years ago that makes me cringe because I probably spent all of 15 minutes on a page…especially when I just finished putting two hours into one page tonight.

DANK:  I’m with Brian.  It happened.  More crossovers are coming, both in the form of at least one more ‘special’ and also in the pages of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE.  Sorry, Bob.  You’ll just have to accept it.

    ALSO: Have I ever mentioned that as a young kid I developed a love/hate relationship with “SUPER FRIENDS”  and it’s all AQUAMAN’s fault?  Basically, I really dug the superheroes, but one day it hit me the story-telling was TERRIBLE!  Why? Because the characters always THOUGHT OUT LOUD and TOLD the audience what was going to happen seconds before it did (or didn’t, depending on the scenes budget).  This was realized while one day I was watching Aquaman explain to himself what he was going to do.  It just struck me as cheesy and insulting to the viewing audience.  I was probably like 6.

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 55 and 56(of 60), also: “It was around this time my lungs were aching for air””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


