06
Apr
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 53 and 54, also: “A bigger bleeding heart than Paul Wellstone, but less accurate with a bow”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 is finally, nearly done, and was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:   In most of the Uptown Girl stories I’ve written, I’ve always felt like there needs to be some sort of moral, or lesson involving the characters. It’s a little sketchy here, I had to sort of make a lot of odd jumps in logic and plot to get to the point where Uptown Girl wishes them all home, but again I think the character interaction was a lot more important to this tale than the plot. And that gagging reaction from the sidekicks was totally worth it.

LIPSKI:  This page really reminds me of the ending to ‘A Game of You’, a storyline from Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series, which I’m sure is exactly what Brian was thinking about when he wrote this. Uptown Girl comes off too sappy sometimes so it’s nice to see Rocketman’s, Jimmy’s and Atlantis Lad’s reaction in the background.

DANK:  Ok, I may be totally wrong here, but I think while the ‘sidekicks’ were in Bobs pencils, I’m the one who made them gagging.  I think it’s a pretty good indication of where I was at mentally while inking this.  There is usually a point in even an average 24 page book where I’m just ‘DONE’ mentally, usually around page 18.  So by page 54 I was ready to kill.

   ALSO:  Green Arrow has always been a pretty namby-pamby hero.  The fact they’ve returned him to his original “Robin Hood” costume roots is pretty sad.  If any one character was served by the grim and gritty era of comics, it was Green Arrow (this is based entirely on the 4 issues of the Kevin Smith run I read and gave up on):

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 53 and 54, also: “A bigger bleeding heart than Paul Wellstone, but less accurate with a bow””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


