05
Apr
10

UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 51 and 52(of 60), also: “Lots to do before next Thursday” and “He’s no Black Racer, but he’s pretty offensive”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this, the final week of posts for this project.  Woot! :

BASTIAN:  Growing up I always got mad when I’d read a story or see a cartoon or something where people got wishes and either didn’t wish for more wishes, or were told that they couldn’t wish for more wishes. Then I got older and wrote this story, and realized that they couldn’t wish for more wishes, so now I understand. I guess they could have wished that they could wish for more wishes and then wish for more wishes. That would be a loophole right? On page 52, I think “Suck it.” was the most profane thing I’d written in a comic up to that time. I was actually a little worried because I knew Bob’s readership can skew a little younger than mine or Danno’s, but at the same time it was just the perfect moment for Hazmat. And we get another chance for him to hit on Ruby..man, we should just do a book where they go on a blind date. It would write itself.

LIPSKI:  And after 50 pages of nonsensical plot, we discover that there really was no point in the hard work because the guy with money just bends the rules.  It’s the 2000 election all over again.  Tommy Chicago’s wish in panel 1 (of pg 52) was, I think, going to set up the plot for the second crossover but….well, it doesn’t anymore.  Brian’s got the plot for the next one all figured out but he won’t tell me and Danno. Ask him, maybe he’ll tell YOU.

DANK:  While what TC wished for no longer sets up a sequel, what Fleming wishes for became MANLY TALES cannon.  And the Brian asked if he could have it destroyed in a story he wants to write.  So now its a race against time to see if I get to use it before Brian breaks it.  Also, in reference to what Brian wrote, I agree the degrees to which Brian made Fleming a bastard on pg 52 have really helped shape the character in ways I was kind of leery of steering him.  But now I’m glad he’s there.  Dickwads rule.

    ALSO:  Hunh.  C2E2 is next week…I should probably get on that….

   FINALLY:  Of all the late 60s/early 70s racist superheroes, todays Daily Goal Sketch had to have been the most obvious.  Kudos to Marvel for getting there first:

0 Responses to “UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 51 and 52(of 60), also: “Lots to do before next Thursday” and “He’s no Black Racer, but he’s pretty offensive””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


