02
Apr
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 49 and 50(of 60), also: “Come buy a copy of ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ tonight at Altered Esthetics Gallery” and

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  I always felt that Tommy Chicago had just slightly more morals than Fleming Hazmat. So I threw his question about if he thinks the Beanmen feel pain to try to show that. I’d like to think that if there wasn’t a life and/or contest at stake he wouldn’t have participated, whereas Fleming probably went home and looked to see if there were any leagues that did this. Of course I undo this on the next page when Fleming mentions how much they were laughing.  And..OH! A shocking twist! I love the bags with $ signs on them. I’m not dumb enough to walk around in real life with one, but I love when I see them in comics, so I was happy to see it included here.

LIPSKI:  It’s a nice nod to Sean’s characters always getting killed off.  Panel two (of pg 50) has a line spoken by Fleming that still makes me laugh every time I think of it.

DANK:  Panel one of pg 49 was the most fun I had while inking this book.  It was the one panel more than any other I was looking forward to doing from day one, and Bob’s lay-outs were really fun to finish.  As for page 50…I remember in the lay-outs The Irish Beyonder was holding the stew and then in the next panel he was holding Fleming as they negotiated.  From a common sense point I knew I had to do something to alter it just so.  So there’s Fleming standing on his shoulder.  I find this hilarious ’cause it means instead of getting lifted he had to climb the IB.  Maybe its just funny in my head…

   ALSO:  After months of work and waiting tonight is the night!  CONTINUITY GUY: the graphic novella is released at ALTERED ESTHETICS GALLERY!!!  So head on down between 7 and 10pm.  Buy a copy!  Have it signed by Bud, Kevin Cannon, and myself!  Look at the original art (and the other ‘collaborative’ art on display)!  Buy some of that too if you like!  Should be a blast!  Hope to see you there.

   FINALLY:  When I got into Captain America back in the late 80’s THE FALCON immediatly lept to the fore-front as one of my favorite characters.  So getting to do today’s Daily Goal Sketch was a blast.  Also, have you noticed I started doing backgrounds on these? 

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 49 and 50(of 60), also: “Come buy a copy of ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ tonight at Altered Esthetics Gallery” and”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


