23
Mar
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 40(of 60), also: “10 days to the ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ book, one day of ‘Cross Hatch’ love” and “I like the Venture Bros version better”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  I was really slow to figure out that the lightbulb was in the background (it is in the background, right?) but it makes the page 22.3% funnier. Also I don’t think I’d ever have been able to pull of a helmet gag like this in a regular Uptown Girl story, so I was thrilled to include it here.

LIPSKI:  I’m always amazed how Danno can have Atlantis Lad express himself to the point where no dialogue is needed.  My characters talk endlessly to drive home a point, but Danno nails it.

DANK:  Thanks Bob!  And as far as the light bulb gag goes…if I recall correctly Bob had pencilled a lightbulb.  I’ve never been a terribly big fan of the lightbulb cliché so I thought it would be funny to make the lightbulb a part of the scene.  Aparently it worked–at least 22.3% of it did.

  ALSO: Here we are..another Tuesday…and no new CONTINUITY GUY page to post.  Instead I’ll remind you that the PRINT VERSION is at the printers and will debut on APRIL 2nd at ALTERED ESTHETICS GALLERY  (UPDATETHE DAILY CROSS HATCH shares some CONTINUITY GUY love.  Thanks Athena!) .  Not only will it be there, but if you’re in the greater Chicago area between APRIL 16th and 18th it’ll be available at C2E2!  Neither Bud or I have a table, but our good friend DANIEL J OLSON will be giving us some real estate at his table! But more on C2E2 in the days to come…

  FINALLY:  Dr. Strange…add’em to the list of Marvel characters I’ve never wanted to read and learn more about.  Maybe the original Ditko stuff is good, but until my public library carries it I’ll never know.  Ah well, at least DR ORPHEUS rocks:


0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 40(of 60), also: “10 days to the ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ book, one day of ‘Cross Hatch’ love” and “I like the Venture Bros version better””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


