22
Mar
10

UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 39(of 60), also: “Ryan Dow is only human”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project, and we’re all getting thru this by reminding ourselves daily “Only three more weeks of this. Only three more weeks…”:

BASTIAN: Sometimes the most complex pages are the easiest to write.  Here’s what I wrote for this page..  

   “Page 39:  Back to the land of confusion (or whatever the hell I called it, I’m on a roll and don’t want to scroll up to see what it’s named.)  One full page of Mc Eschers “house of stairs”.  I think that’s what it’s called.  You know what I’m talking about, with all the crazy stairs going this way and that.  Betsy, Ruby and Stella are in the foreground, at the top of one stairs should be a basket of carrots.  For making you draw and ink this you are each allowed one free punch or you can write nasty stuff about me on myspace.”

   That took me maybe 45-60 seconds to write. I did no research, not even researching my own stuff and to this day, I have not yet been punched, and I no longer have a MySpace account.  But the page looks awesome, and that’s why I like working with these guys.

LIPKSI:  This page was a bitch to pencil.

DANK:  This page was an even bigger bitch to ink.  But I paged thru an Escher book for about a half hour before setting brushpen to paper to get in the mood.  And I think it’s cute Brian thinks Myspace actually deleted his account.  Once Rupert Murdoch owns you, he OWNS YOU!

  ALSO:   Hey, I highlighted the ‘also’!  I should have done that months ago.  Anyway…Today’s Daily Goal Sketch–ELEKTRA–is one of those characters I’ve never really liked/cared about/desperately wanted to read stories about.  So I haven’t.  My only positive thing to say about Elektra is I once nearly saw Ryan Dow explode when confronted with the reality of having to spend a few hours in a small room sitting directly across from an Elektra cosplayer.  Explode in the good way, ya know?!  (Sorry, Ryan)

1 Response to “UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 39(of 60), also: “Ryan Dow is only human””


  1. 03/22/2010 at 10:21

    BWA-HA-HA-HA! I remember that day. It was so great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


