19
Mar
10

UG v.TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pgs 37 and 38(of 60), also: “SMV: WALKABOUT” sneak peek, and “Colin Farrell worms his way onto this blog AGAIN!”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  Whenever I find I’ve written myself into a corner, I fall back on “Tommy Chicago is ignorant and/or outraged”.  So far it hasn’t failed me.  Although his rant is something I have wondered about from time to time.  You never see anyone selling/ordering “Cow” in a restaurant.  Why not?  “Because” is the answer I usually get.  Anyway..I also love the cow in the headlock.  Great stuff all around.

LIPSKI:  Yeah, that’s a guy wrestling a cow…  I really can see Tommy Chicago’s point in his argument here.  It also is similar to why an orange is called an orange but a banana isn’t called a yellow.  Did the name of the color come first?  Or did the fruit?  Which is it?

DANK:  I think the heart of these pages (cow headlock aside) is the pure hate that exists between Fleming and TC.  I almost think Brian and I have to do an ‘ODD COUPLE’ adaptation featuring these two.  Ruby Tuesday and Uptown Girl can cameo as their respective put-upon ex-wives.  Stage play adaptation starring your own creations is the future of the comics industry.  You read it here first….and now I have to go call Top Shelf…

   ALSO:  ERIK NELSON is a cartoonist, plumber, future husband, and all-around great guy.  I’m glad to already call him friend, and now I can call him COLLABORATOR!  Erik and I have done a SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE short together that will debut at SPRINGCON (and I may possibly even have some copies for C2E2).  This short was written by me, the re-written and pencilled by Erik.  I came in with the inks, and the end result is the weirdest thing I have done in quite some time. It’s psychedelic, political, and violent.  Fun Stuff!   Anyway, here’s a sneak peek:

   FINALLY:  Todays Daily Goal Sketch–BULLSEYE–is total Kismet considering who we based the “villain” of the UPTOWN GIRL/TC/MANLY TALES crossover on.  And yes, he was the only good part of that awful Affleck vehicle:

0 Responses to “UG v.TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pgs 37 and 38(of 60), also: “SMV: WALKABOUT” sneak peek, and “Colin Farrell worms his way onto this blog AGAIN!””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


