18
Mar
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by BASTIAN, LIPSKI, and DANK–pg 36(of 60), also: “This doesn’t technically count”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN: For those youths out there (and Bob), Clara Peller was the “Where’s the Beef” lady from the Wendy’s commercials in the mid 80’s, which became an instant hit and source of amusement for our country, and perhaps the world. We are also introduced to the Beanmen, which I’m 99% positive Danno (and Bob) will have much more (and factual) information on below.

LIPSKI: When we came up with this ambitious project, I really wanted to bring in all the characters that fellow Twin Cities cartoonists had come up with.  I wanted to see Kevin Cannon’s ‘Shanks’ and Jon Sloan’s ‘San-Bom Jim’ and Sean Tenhoff’s ‘The Beanmen’.  Brian wisely talked me out of out as it would have been a logistic nightmare but I am happy we get Sean’s strange, murderous creatures in a cameo.
And does anyone still know who Clara Peller is?

DANK:  Brian was right about both the factual information and the logistical nightmare.  Even though I think THE BEANMEN were more or less “done” by the time Brian wrote this story I had gotten both an ‘OK’ from Sean to use the Beans, AND Sean was going to do some cameo art on them himself!  Then several weeks later when time came to actually do the art…uhh…I don’t remember what happened.  Sean had more or less committed himself to his kids and ANIMATING the Beanmen.  He was busy.  So I just drew the Beanmen in my best Tenhoff.  Sean would later approve what I had done.  And his computer would explode.  Thereby destroying months of work on his animated film.  That was the end of that project…

   Also:  This isn’t technically a Daily Goal Sketch since I drew it for a different client than the one who has the has the actual goal which results in a drawing from me, but he tends to miss at least a day of work every week.  So this is a “Daily Goal Sketch Buffer’.  Deal with it.

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by BASTIAN, LIPSKI, and DANK–pg 36(of 60), also: “This doesn’t technically count””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


