16
Mar
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 34(of 60), also: “the latest page of ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ is now…ummm…oh”, and “My best worst idea”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN: Back to the robot world. It was really hard for me to get any of the sidekicks to step up. Jimmy is the most competent, but Rocketman is the oldest (probably) so I figured that the other two as sidekicks would defer to the ‘adult’ in the room.

LIPSKI: I had the scene from ‘The Phantom Menace’ where the bad guys are trying to get through the door early in the movie in my head when I penciled out the first panel.  Danno really made it work. 

DANK:  I’ve probably already said this like four times, but this is one of my favorite pages of the book.  Tomorrows page which completes this sequence is my ACTUAL FAVORITE page.  The last shot of Rocketman is one of the times I followed Bob’s pencils exactly as draw and it turned out perfect, just showing I should have put more Lipski and less Dank into my inking for this.

  ALSO:  So here’s the part where I should be reminding you that the latest page of CONTINUITY GUY is up.  But I can’t, cause sadly the story is done.  NO WAIT!  That’s not sad!  In fact it’s awesome cause the PRINT VERSION is at the printers and will debut on APRIL 2nd at ALTERED ESTHETICS GALLERYSo since I can’t pimp on of BUD’s great new pages I’ll post this drunken sketch he did a few weeks ago on the other side of the country on a napkin in a bar while likely drunk.  ENJOY:

  FINALLY:  Back in the day my Mom would go shopping at Rosedale, but before that she’d stop at the Shinders across the way and let me load up on comics to read while she spent hours looking at clothes of whatever.  One series I discovered in the quarter bins, fell head over heals for, and purchased every issue of I could find was the 1970/80’s Marvel masterpiece POWER MAN AND IRON FIST.  It’s almost indescribable why I loved the series so.  Was it cause Power Man could “swear” by saying “CHRISTMAS!”?  Maybe.  Was it cause I shared the same a first name with Iron Fist?  Maybe.  Was it cause ROM THE SPACE KNIGHT showed up once?  Maybe.  Either way, I loved it.  All 25 cents worth of each issue.  So here’s my “BEST WORST IDEA EVER”:  Marvel hires me to write a POWER MAN AND IRON FIST mini-series set in the 1970/80’s.  No modern continuity BS.  Just straight-forward old school Marvel storytelling.  What do you think?  (Personally I think ideas like these are why Marvel would never hire me to begin with).  Anyway…here’s Danny Rand:

1 Response to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 34(of 60), also: “the latest page of ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ is now…ummm…oh”, and “My best worst idea””


  1. 1 Bud
    03/16/2010 at 18:07

    Is that BITTERNESS or RANDY MOSS??


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


