05
Mar
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 26(of 60), also: “Jack Kirby, what have you done?”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  I think I was still in line rotation mode, so Uptown Girl got the “Because we want them to come back alive” line.  I’m not sure if that was the best choice I could have made since she just met Fleming.  On the other hand, I think we make it pretty clear on page 13 that his respect for sidekick life is not only minimal, but actively dangerous.  Also I ran out of clever names for things, so they’ll be on the hunt for beef.

LIPSKI:  After reading panel 2, I have no doubt in my mind that Tommy Chicago will lead Jimmy to his death someday. 

DANK:  I think TOMMY CHICAGO, FLEMING HAZMAT, and UPTOWN GIRL are all secretly leading the three of us to our deaths.

  ALSO:  When I think about LOKI (and I don’t),  I really only know him from that big late 80’s crossover where all the villains teamed-up and switched who they attacked.  In the end it turned out LOKI was the mastermind behind it all and there was this big climax fight in the pages of WEST COAST AVENGERS, which I guess was Marvels flagship title at the time (?!).  Ever since then I thought his outfit was ridiculous.  Over half a lifetime later I now know I can attribute it to Jack Kirby.  I can only imagine every artist who has drawn Loki since silently curses the King for what he did:

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 26(of 60), also: “Jack Kirby, what have you done?””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


