25
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 20(of 60), also: “Michele Bachmann: The Shameless Whore”–now with link updates! and “Proof of Jabba the Hut’s staying power”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  If I recall correctly (and I’m starting to feel like the old school Iron Chef guy: “If memory serves, the south atlantic giant squid is best eaten before it starts to eat you.” And then he bites into a pepper), even though I made the…made this guy Irish, I didn’t write too much Irish dialogue for him.  So thanks Danno for adding all the “Yees” where needed.  Unless I did do that, then disregard everything I just said.  Except for the Iron Chef stuff, that guy rocks.

LIPSKI:  I remember pencilling this page still not having any idea what the Irishman looked like.  I’m sure I just roughed out his shape and left it up to Danno.  And he ran with it.  Danno really inspired me to take more time and care with my comic and my artwork.

DANK:  I’m torn here.  I’m really humbled by Bob’s compliment, but I’m also very grateful he forgot about the ‘fisherman’ version of the Irishman he pencilled and I obliterated from history….anyway…Yes Brian, it was indeed I who addes the ‘Yee’s” and “Aye’s”.  It was probably the last thing I did before calling my work on this issue ‘done’.  I remember Bob, Brian and I were going to meet up at the Roseville Kinkos (as we do every couple months when a new collaboration or project is done) to coo over this comic and I was re-reading it one last time to make sure there wasn’t something I needed to fix before printing.  It was then that the total lack of ‘Irishness’ to the Irish Beyonders dialogue really jumped out at me.  It has been written and lettered months previous, so there wasn’t much we could do at that point.  I went back and forth with myself on altering Brian’s script, but I figured giving this character (who will be voiced by Ewan McGregor in the upcoming film version) even the tiniest hint of Irishness was probably a good thing (cloverleafs on the lapel can only go so far in projecting characterization).  The only downfall I can see to it now is some places (like on panel 5 of this page) is where my altering of Bob’s lettering is pretty evident.

   ALSO:  It’s been a week and a half since I last mentioned this, so I think it’s safe to do it again… FALSE WITNESS: THE MICHELE BACHMANN STORY #3 is NOW AVAILABLE!  FALSE WITNESS #3 is was written as always by BILL PRENDERGAST and features art from myself, DANIEL J OLSON, RYAN DOW and JAMES POWELL.  There’s also art from LUPI McGINTY, who did the kick-ass cover as well:

Available to order at http://biasedliberalmedia.com

   WHOA!  Ok, since I published this post 10 hours ago some serious internet buzz has started with this issue.  First up is one of my favorites THE HUFFINGTON POST (it was even–ever so briefly–a front page story).   Also, CITY PAGES gave us some love.  Thanks again for the internet, Al Gore.

     FINALLY:   All I knew before going into this was that CLUEMASTER was orange.  And he fought the Flash or something.  Well its the year 2000-something now and Cluemaster has become a cautionary tale for the youth:

2 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 20(of 60), also: “Michele Bachmann: The Shameless Whore”–now with link updates! and “Proof of Jabba the Hut’s staying power””


  1. 02/25/2010 at 08:36

    Psst….I didn’t do any art for this issue.

  2. 02/25/2010 at 18:08

    But what you did for this issue IS an art my friend.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


