23
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 18(of 60), also: “Continuity Guy” get concludier, and “Kevin Spacey and Gene Hackman battle to the death”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  Here’s a little “don’t sue us Marvel” moment.  Also in my quest to give everyone’s characters equal page space, I just wrote the dialogue out and then assigned people to say it after the fact, but I’m sure you didn’t need me to tell you that.  It’s pretty obvious here.

LIPSKI:  This guy never gets his name, but goddammit you have to love his accent.  Straight out of Claremont’s X-Men it is.

DANK:  Symmetry and Scale.  This page is all about symmetry and scale.  Since Brian had randomly decided who said what here I remember the top little panel was someone else (Stella maybe?), but to create symmetry I made it Fleming since he was on the bottom of the page as well.  As for scale–I think Bob and I both liked the idea that he was giant.  But how giant?  He’s clearly much bigger here than he was when he appeared a couple pages ago.  And he’ll be shorter later.  I thought it was kind of funny how he kept changing.  But if you were all powerful and from beyond the universe wouldn’t you keep shifting shape too?

  ALSO:  Seriously!  There’s only a couple pages left of CONTINUITY GUY!  Bud and I are even getting it ready for print now.  This project has been a blast to see come to life, and now its nearly done.  Soon the basking begins…

  FINALLY:   When my client asked I do LEX LUTHOR for today’s Daily Goal Sketch he was just expecting a bald guy in a suit.  When I asked if he had ever seen Luthor’s super-suit he said no.  I don’t think he really wanted me to add it, but I did anyway and my reward was an awed “WOW!”  I love when he says that.

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 18(of 60), also: “Continuity Guy” get concludier, and “Kevin Spacey and Gene Hackman battle to the death””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


