22
Feb
10

UPTOWN GIRL vs. TOMMY CHICAGO vs. MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 17(of 60), also: “Thanks to you Ron Marz and Darryl Banks!”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  And now we introduce…This guy.  I don’t think we ever actually name him.  In the script I just wrote “Irish Beyonder”, and I could have easily called him “Mr. Moves the Plot Along”.  I like his little portal thing though.  And whoever designed him did a nice job of Irishing him up.

LIPSKI:  OH MY GOD–AN IRISHMAN!  Or a Scotsman.  Who knows.  Anyway, Brian writes his scripts very loosely.  Usually he just writes down everything that needs to happen on a particular page and the dialogue.  Rarely does he break things down into panels which means it’s up to me and Danno to work out timing and making sure we fit everything on the page.  It took a bit to get used to, but I love this style.  It can be challenging but gives me a chance to flex my creative muscles a bit.  I can’t find the script for this comic anymore, but I’m sure the script for this page was something like “a mysterious stranger appears”.  For some reason I thought he needed to be 20 feet tall.  And Danno decided he’d look like Colin Farrell.

DANK:  My memories of the “nemesis” (or whatever he is) of this story is that early in the planning stages Brian pitched the ‘SECRET WARS’ angle and we all agreed to it.  I want to say someone else brought up the fact the Beyonder was based on Don Johnson, but it may have been me.  Who knows.  What I DO know is that I’m the one who than ran with this and–insisted?–our Beyonder be based on the new ‘Sonny Crockett’, Mr. Colin Farrell….and I thought we had all agreed to this.  When Bob gave me the pencils he was drawn as an Army Shanks-esque fisherman.  So, as I had been doing on all the previous pages, I took Bob’s pencils and then just drew with ink whatever the hell I wanted.  I think I should look up what ‘inker’ means.

   ALSO:  I never cared much for the Green Lantern.  I dug his power, but never his costume or character. In the early 1990’s today’s Daily Goal Sketch character helped pave the way to get rid of lame-o Green Lantern Hal Jordan, and make way for the ‘Omega’ Green Lantern Kyle Rayner.  Kyle Rayner’s character, costume, and story arc made me like, purchase, and read Green Lantern.  When the Ron Marz/Darryl Banks run on Green Lantern came to an end seven or so years later, I quit with it.  It was a perfect run.  So if you’re your ever looking for 70-some comics to read, I suggest you pick those up.   Lets say thanks once more to Ron Marz, Darryl Banks, and Mongel for what they did for the Green Lantern legacy:

0 Responses to “UPTOWN GIRL vs. TOMMY CHICAGO vs. MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 17(of 60), also: “Thanks to you Ron Marz and Darryl Banks!””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


