19
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 16(of 60), also: Dan Murphy is a tease, and “In your face, Metallo!”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  I guess I should also say that I did absolutely no research for this dialogue. I wasn’t looking up lines from a 1970’s guide to dating or anything like that. It all came from the heart. Ladies, did I mention I’m single? Call me…See, the smarm just comes naturally.

LIPSKI:  Here we have Brian writing two characters he didn’t create interacting with each other, but he writes ‘em like he owns them. Nice.

DANK:  Despite what Brian says, this is EXACTLY the method I used the night I met my wife.  Thank god she was drunk.

     ALSO:  My longest-time collaborator DAN MURPHY (we started in middle school some 19 or 20-WOW!-years ago, and recently did reteamed on PHIL THE EVIL BEAN OF DOOM) are cooking something up.  It’ll probably be a while before anything finished exists, but Dan has been doing to preliminary work.  Normally stuff like this is supposed to be “TOP SECRET” or whatever, but what Dan has been doing is just too cool not to show.  So here’s this:

art (c) Dan Murphy. characters (c) Klonowski.--except MPFB (c) Nels. So yeah...please don't steal our ideas or anything.

    FINALLY:  One thing I’ve noticed about the Daily Goal Sketch is the reoccurring ebb and flow.  It seems like every time I do one where I didn’t the like the client-chose source character design, didn’t put my heart into it, and/or was too busy to focus it’s always immediately followed by one where I feel like I totally threw it out of the stadium…or however that old sports analogy goes.  For example, after yesterdays atrocious Metallo, I can now present the super cool BRAINIAC:

1 Response to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 16(of 60), also: Dan Murphy is a tease, and “In your face, Metallo!””


  1. 02/19/2010 at 23:12

    I’m no Al Columbia, but I am a huge tease.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


