18
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 15(of 60), also: Dan Olson rocks the party, and”Stock Profile #7″

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  This is my favorite part of the book, and it almost didn’t happen. Originally this was going to be a 48 page book, so I just started writing, confident that I’d figure out how to end the story by the time I near the end (see also: Everything I had written up to this point).  So when I got near the end I realized I was going to need more pages, and also I needed some more character interaction, which I’ll go into more detail later (we do have 45 pages left to go) but “Fleming hits on Ruby” just popped into my head, and I knew right away it had to be done, as long as Bob and Danno would approve adding 12 pages to the story.  I think I had Danno right when I said “Fleming hits on Ruby” and Bob…well I went to the hospital the day after his daughter was born to visit, and I asked him as I was leaving. I’m pretty sure he thought I was just a leprechaun offering him some delicious candy.  The point is it was worth it.

LIPSKI:  My characters don’t date. They don’t date each other or anyone else, so it was fun to see Fleming hit on Ruby.

DANK:  I agree having Fleming get his creep-on with Ruby was a stroke of genius.  Like I mentioned somewhere in the commentary for MTOC #0, I hadn’t given much thought to Fleming as a sexual being, so making him the sort of sexual being who was never going to get any with his sad approach was perfect.  Its also helped set-up almost immediately in my mind how MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #10 was going to open….estimated print date: 2047.

    ALSO:  I should have mentioned this earlier, but I recently wrote a SUPER MAXI-PAD GIRL story for my friend DANIEL J OLSON’s award-winning comic of the same name that Dan is illustrating.  I should also mention that comic-issue #3–is debuting at Chicago’s C2E2 in April, where Dan will be tabling.  Here’s a preview of the sweetness to come:

   Oh!–I’ll be at c2E2 with Dan.  I probably should have mentioned that,

   FINALLY:  There have been several interesting versions of today’s Daily Goal Sketch, but my client chose by far the most boring.  So I did all I could to turn in the most boring sketch imaginable.  ENJOY!

2 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 15(of 60), also: Dan Olson rocks the party, and”Stock Profile #7″”


  1. 02/18/2010 at 08:56

    Award winning? Who do you think I am Ryan Dow?

  2. 02/18/2010 at 18:55

    No sir, you are just an American hero making comics about lady-parts hygiene.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


