17
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 14(of 60), also: “BUMBLEBEE #3”, and “Jim Lee touches lives nearly everywhere”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BASTIAN:  I love that Fleming and TC have this conversation while still fighting. Another thing I love is this is at least the second time I’ve written TC saying “Jimmy, make a note:” and we see Jimmy with a notebook, actually making the note. I never actually imagine him doing that when I’m writing. I just think of him making a mental note or something, not carrying around a notebook. So every time I see it, I think of how awesome it is, and how one day we’ll have to explore the mystery of Jimmy’s notebook.

LIPSKI:  As soon as we finished this gargantuan task of a comic we started thinking about the sequel.  Don’t tell anyone but this story was sort of based on ‘Secret Wars’, another Marvel mini series.  Wasn’t it?  Brian?  I think?  The characters are transported to a distant planet and are given a task by a mysterious entity.  That was the plot of ‘Secret Wars’, right?  Anyway, I had pitched the idea of Tommy Chicago waging war on Atlantis in order to then save the day-against himself-and therefore being able to use Atlantis Lads for disposable sidekicks.  The idea came from panels 2 and 3 on this page.  I had it all worked out when I pitched it Brian.  He politely listened.

DANK– Boy am I sure glad Brian didn’t go for that.  Atlantis Lad provides some of the best gags in MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE and I sure would have hated loosing him to TC.  And about the headlock thing…like I mentioned yesterday I added that.  The original layouts were of TC and Fleming kinda shooting the breeze just panels after fighting (the action of which I had also amped up).  I figured at the very least they’d still be ticked and maybe glove-slapping one another.  But a headlock was easier to draw.  Now you know.

   ALSO:  The almost ridiculously ‘LT. KLONOWSKI’-heavy third issue of TRANSFORMERS: BUMBLEBEE mini-series by ZANDER CANNON and CHEE  is now available at your local comic shop.  Here’s a taste of some Klonowski goodness that awaits:

   FINALLY:  As a kid I always dug Gambit, but I don’t know that I ever drew him since Jim Lee had made his costume too detail-laden for my tastes.  Anyway, thanks to the Daily Goal Sketch I was forced to.  And it was fun.  I have no idea what I was so afraid of:

3 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 14(of 60), also: “BUMBLEBEE #3”, and “Jim Lee touches lives nearly everywhere””


  1. 02/17/2010 at 09:45

    I don’t even know what Gambit looked like before Jim Lee drew him.

  2. 02/18/2010 at 18:57

    I think–THINK!–Jim Lee invented Gambit. I could be wrong. If only there were some kind of online resource for all information…


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


