12
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 11(of 60), also: “Ice tooo see you”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  Looking back on this, I think I had the Uptown Girl cast assimilate a little too quickly to being transported across time and space but really to move things along to the fun stuff, they needed to come more into the Manly Tales/Tommy Chicago world, where the voice of reason is a voice most often ignored.  And here’s a little shout out to Manly Tales #4.  I don’t know what Stella has to complain about.  Tommy Chicago got poisoned, Horrace lost his eye, and Jimmy was traumatized by the death of Atlantis Lad, who arguably had the worst time of all.  Betsy and Stella had it easy.

BOB LIPSKI:  God, I haven’t looked at this comic in a while and man, am I glad Danno inked it.  This comic wouldn’t look half as good if we swapped art chores.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Well….I think if we swapped the chores on this book it would have looked a lot like pages 7-9 do…and those pages are pretty awesome, so I think it would have gone well.  This is also the page where I finally resolved to change Stella’s hair once I eventually drew TOMMY CHICAGO #1 (vol. 2).  I kept trying alter ithere  just a little to make her different from Uptown Girl’s and Ruby Tuesday’s hair, but as this page shows she swings either way too easily.  So I decided to give her a bun….yes, only 50 pages to go until I can finally draw her with a bun…

   ALSO:  Mr Freeze has always been my favorite Batman villain since I first saw him on the old TV show (believe it or not).  I like the Mignola one best, but the ‘new’ Mr Freeze is pretty bad-ass.   At least he’s not…you know

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 11(of 60), also: “Ice tooo see you””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


