11
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 10(of 60), also: “Dude, yuck.”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  Boy that’s pretty sweet seeing all those characters on one page.  For a few days I was obsessed with having all of their words form some sort of crazy sentence that would be awesomely hilarious.  Then I got distracted by something shiny, and the opportunity was lost.

BOB LIPSKI:  The rest of the book (except the last 6 pages–ed.) was pencilled and lettered by myself and inked by Danno.  Of course, I think ‘pencilled’ is waaaay to generous of a credit.  “Layout artist” is more applicable.  I tend to pencil very lightly and loosely to make the inking more spontaneous….but the problem was that I wasn’t inking this comic.  I think when I pencilled this page I roughed out where the characters would stand and that was it.  I doubt I even roughed out the backgrounds….looking back on pages 1-3 it’s obvious I didn’t give a damn about backgrounds.  Like John Byrne.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  I have to concur with Bob.  The pencils on this were barebones.  I think there were places where Bob didn’t even draw my characters, he just left space for them.  But I still kinda feel like a jerk that I didn’t capture what Bob has done more purely to his own style.  It basically just looks like I drew it (damn my heavy brush stroke!).  That might make me a heal, but his pencils were fun expounding upon, so I think it’s ok…right?  

   ALSO:  Riddle me this…what the fuck where they thinking when they green-lite the number Edward Nigma is wearing in ‘THE BATMAN’ cartoon???

0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pg 10(of 60), also: “Dude, yuck.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


