08
Feb
10

Uptown Girl vs Tommy Chicago vs Manly Tales of Cowardice–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 1,2, and 3(of 60), also: “ALWAYS SUNNY IN PHILADELPHIA” is the only thing I’ve ever liked Danny Devito in

  The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BRIAN BASTIAN: Bob has a very clear vision of the Uptown Girl universe and its served him well. So when we were going to do this crossover, there were a few concerns about how they’d mesh with the Manly Tales and Tommy Chicago gangs, which are slightly more out there.  So I decided to add a couple things here in their intoduction that could be used later to explain away the story. That’s where the weird alien looking canisters came from.  It’s partly a nod to the original Secret Wars from Marvel.  If you’re not familar with that story–it’s about Super Heroes (and villains) running along minding their own business when suddenly a giant alien building/stadium/donut would appear and they’d walk in and vanish!  Then they were transported far far away to take part in some stupid contest.  But we wouldn’t do that.

BOB LIPSKI:  Pencilled and inked by me.  Back when we did this thing, I was cranking out a 24 page (or more) comic every month. I was doing about….4-6 pages a day and man, it showed.  I was proud of the comics I did, but they look rushed to me these days.  I figured I’d have no problem getting my share of the artwork done in a decent time.  My daughter Sophia was born in December 2007, right around the time we all started on this thing.  Looking back, I can’t believe I got anything done at all.   I remember thinking that I’d use this comic as an excuse to try out a new art style….a little more crosshatching, a little more texture. I was really inspired by Kevin Cannon’s art and I thought I’d give it a shot at something a little more stylized. 

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  What I can’t believe is when we tossed around the idea for this at FALLCON 2007  that Brian was able to churn out a script we all liked and agreed on so quickly.  I was even more dumbfounded when a few weeks later at the MUSCLES AND FIGHTS 2: MUSCLIER AND FIGHTIER release party Bob was there with ALL 45 PAGES of pencils for me to start inking on!  So the fact he could churn these 3 out (and 2 other?!  Jesus!) in a single day doesn’t surprise me at all. 

   Also:  This is a nearly all-Batman villain week for the Daily Goal Sketch.  We kick it off with Oswald Cobblepot:

0 Responses to “Uptown Girl vs Tommy Chicago vs Manly Tales of Cowardice–by Brian Bastian, Bob Lipski, and Danno Klonowski–pg 1,2, and 3(of 60), also: “ALWAYS SUNNY IN PHILADELPHIA” is the only thing I’ve ever liked Danny Devito in”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


