07
Feb
10

UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–cover and introduction

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I’m sure you guys covered all the ideas we went through before settling on this cover idea. I just sat back and said “Yeah, that sounds good.”  I do remember you, Danno, saying that you had a hard time drawing the stew because you’re a vegetarian and don’t know what meat looks like. I thought that was a little odd.  Not being a vegetarian–but I myself have dabbled in vegetarianism–I would think that one of the keys to being a vegetarian is knowing what meat looks like so you don’t accidently eat it. I kept that to myself. Until now. I’m glad I waited.

BOB LIPSKI:  The cover was inspired by the Marvel miniseries “The Infinity Gauntlet” from…1991? I loved this series. Danno pencilled the cover, I inked it, and my friend Ben Mudek colored the hell out of it.  Inside front cover (Who’s Who) was all Danno’s idea.  I really liked the idea of adding who would play the characters in the inevitable (not really) movie.  Danno did all the art on this page and most of the captions.  I designed all the characters in Tommy Chicago way back when, so it’s not a real surprise that Uptown Girl and Stella look similar. I always thought that Drew Barrymore could play Uptown Girl in a movie  so it was kinda funny that Danno “cast” her as Stella.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:   Actually Bob, Brian cast her.  We all cast are own characters the day we met at Kinkos to look over the art when it was all done.  But I’ll get back to Stella soon… as far as the cover goes I remember there being some back and forth on what parody it would be–because from the outset we knew we wanted to parody SOME major crossover cover.  The whole idea of this crossover was just ridiculous fun inspired by things we read growing up like INFINITY GAUNTLET and SECRET WARS that we just had to acknowledge this from the get-go.  I did both a “SECRET WARS” and “WORLD’S FINEST” parody that were used as pin-ups in the back of the book.  I remember I was initially against the INFINITY GAUNTLET one though–mostly because I thought just having our 9 characters on the front would go against George Perez’s vision of over-doing it.   But when I hit upon the absurdist idea of including a bunch of our characters on the cover who don’t even appear in the actual issue, well then I just fell in love and had lots of fun drawing.  Bob and Ben’s respective inking and coloring really made it sing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


