03
Feb
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’–pg 3/4(of 6), also: “CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY” returns, and “I miss your pointy hat”

This “one week only”  tale was written by now-frequent collaborator/writer BRIAN BASTIAN.   It was originally the second story featured in MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #0, but also a part of our submission for LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’ .  Brian is here to join us–once again!–for some behind-the-scenes retrospectacizing on this 6 page epic:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I don’t know what to say about this page.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  I do.  It’s about one of my favorite things I’ve ever drawn.

BASTIAN:  My favorite part about writing comics is when I put something in that I have no idea how the artist will pull it off, but I know it’ll be awesome.  Here’s a great example of that. 

DANK:  I feel the same way when I’m writing something for someone else.  It’s a good feeling.

BASTIAN:  I think I just wrote “add any Star Wars characters you want”.  I especially enjoy the Death Star Atlantis Lad.  It would have been tough, but I would have liked to see an Admiral Ackbar.

DANK:  It wouldn’t have been impossible, and now I think I know what to draw you for Xmas.

  ALSO:  A few months ago when this blog started I did a “cover” of the cover to CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY #1.  It was a blast to do, and I think a nice way to say “Thank You” to WILL SHETTERLY and VINCE STONE, whose work on the Cap inspired me ‘lo those many years ago to waste my life drawing comics (and I couldn’t be happier!).   And when I was done with it, I just wanted to keep going and do the covers to all 18 issues.  Time went on.  I got wrapped up in other ventures.  That plan fell by the wayside.   But I’ve been so inspired of late by things like SLOTH FIGHT and GO! GO! ILLUSTRATION that over the weekend I made a challenge to myself: 

    I will–by December 31st, 2010–do every CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY cover.

   It seems like a feasible goal.  So…here we go.  May I present the cover to CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY #1 (special edition), the re-written/re-drawn re-do of issue one that Will and Vince put out towards the run of the series (I think thats the timeline). 

   In addition to being  a blast to draw, I should note I’m also re-reading each issue I do.  Its been fun revisiting these old friends.  And YOU  can read the whole series for yourself over at http://captainconfederacy.blogspot.com/ .

  Finally:  As lame as the ‘classic’ Electro is, I’m still smitten with his ultra-lame costume.  The EGO it would take to wear that in public and commit evil!  Astounding.  And I can see why they revised him quite extensively for a new generation: 

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’–pg 3/4(of 6), also: “CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY” returns, and “I miss your pointy hat””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

