01
Feb
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’–by Brian Bastian and myself–cover and pg 1(of 6), also: Sloth Fights Hazmat, and Topher Grace takes one for the team

   The strip this week was originally the second story featured in MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #0, and also a part of our submission for LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’ .  It was written by now-frequent collaborator/writer BRIAN BASTIAN.   And  Brian is here to join us–once again!–for some behind-the-scenes retrospectacizing on this 6 page epic:

BRAIN BASTIAN: Well this should be like a chocolate midget (…short and sweet?…Sorry).

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Umm….yep.  Moving on…

BASTIAN: Cover and page 1.  I had absolutely nothing to do with either of these.  But this is as good as a point as any to explain #2 of the 3 elements that went towards the creation of this story:  I’m not sure how many issues of Tommy Chicago we had worked on thus far (I’m going to guess two, because it’s in the middle of the 2nd TC free comic book day issue, and there’s an ad for issue 1 at the end) but you had also done countless (I counted twice) pin ups  for me.

DANK:  That sounds about right.  Oh!–and don’t forget MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4.

BASTIAN:   So I thought I would do the writing equivalent of a pin up…of course then you’d have to draw it if it was ever to see print. But I would have been ok with you just printing up the script and hanging it on your wall.

DANK:  Putting scripts in art galleries is the next step!  You’ll see.  As paper use declines (thanks, Steve Jobs!), surely a printed script will be a rare and valuable commodity.

BASTIAN: I think the original script was a 2 or 3 page story.

DANK:    I remembered opening the email with that script-bomb on a lunch break and laughing out loud and drawing strange looks from people in offices around me.   Liking it as I did I thought of a few ways to expand it a little so we could print it (plus front and back covers) into a perfect little 8 page package.

BASTIAN:  Of course if you hadn’t expanded it, you would have needed a magnifying glass to see what was going on.  So good call!

DANK:  Thanks Brian.  I should note I think this is probably my favorite cover of the series so far.  Its nearly perfect….damn hand lettered logo…..Thank goodness KEVIN CANNON did a nice version of it.

   Also:  Last week I mentioned my friend BRITT HAMMERBERG‘s wonderful new daily PAINTING(!) blog–SLOTH FIGHT.  As an unexpected–but highly welcome result–Britt did the following last week:

   Don’t forget–Britts SLOTH FIGHT blog has a running competitionto bet on when she quits.  So places your bets and check back every day for some wonderful art (which you can purchase for a measly and self-depricating $5!).

   Finally:  The rumor was that Topher Grace signed onto SPIDER-MAN 3 to play the character from todays Daily Goal Sketch, but at the last minute Marvel forced Sam Raimi to switch the villain to Venom to appeal to the “fans” and they kept Topher to play him.  Whether this was smoke and mirrors, internet speculation, or a true fact, the point remains that no matter who Topher Grace played in SPIDER-MAN 3 it was still going to be a bad movie………stupid Goblin Jr…

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–LUTEFISK SUSHI ‘C’–by Brian Bastian and myself–cover and pg 1(of 6), also: Sloth Fights Hazmat, and Topher Grace takes one for the team”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


