26
Jan
10

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #0–pg 19(of 23), also: Maximum Stupid and ‘Continuity Guy’

    In the category of ‘total throw-away gags’, this page has one of my favorites.  A good writer would have milked ‘Disco Fever’ as a plot device for a whole issue, but not me.  I piss it away in one panel.

   Speaking of bad writing…todays Daily Goal Sketch is of SpiderMan uber-nemesis Carnage.  Carnage is dumb.  Having an evil twin in a comic (in Spidey’s case Vemon) is barely admittable unless you’re going for post-ironic laughs in this day in age.  But to have the ultra-super-maxi-EVILER twin is just unforgivable.  And then to try and bank millions on him…just sad, sad, sad.  Thankfully, in the heyday of Carnage I was working in a comic store and read about every comic that came out each month for free.  This is why I have a burning dislike for Carnage.  Had I been a paying reader…well, I wouldn’t have been buying SpiderMan anyway.  But to be someone who got to read all that crap for free and then to see what other poor suckers were paying hard-earned cash on…just terrible.  I was much wiser for my age than they.  I only spent money on REAL investment comics–like the multiple $30 a pop covers for GEN-13 #1.

  Finally, BUD is on vacation, but there is STILL a new CONTINUITY GUY this week.  Go see what’s new and catch up on what you’ve missed as the exciting conclusion is only weeks away!   And in breaking news:  Up next in collaboration with Bud, we’ll switch roles and he’ll be writing a MEATFIST AND GRONK story for me to draw.   I should start getting around to that sometime at the end of summer.  More details to come…

1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #0–pg 19(of 23), also: Maximum Stupid and ‘Continuity Guy’”


  1. 1 bewilderedkid
    01/27/2010 at 10:21

    Carnage really didn’t resonate with me. Nowawadays he reminds me of the remnants of Chron’s disease. However, I have to disagree with your take on Venom. They overused him quite a bit, but it was still a fun character.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


