31
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 24(of 24–THE END!!!), also: Ghost Rider, and Tomorrow is 2010

 Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this, the final page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I could have been more clear about how TC get’s cured, but I think it’s pretty evident, so I guess there was no need to.

DANNO KLONOWSKI: Well…TC does come right and say it, so I think it’s pretty clear. I’d just like to say “Thank You” for about the eight millionth time for writing this issue, Brian (and EVERYTHING else we’ve done together since).  Our collaborations have wonderfully joyful to work on, and I look forward to finishing up the TOMMY CHICAGO saga (due out May 2010) and seeing where we go from there. And now… Brian’s “FINAL THOUGHT” on MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4.

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I think we’ve proven that my memory is pretty unreliable when it comes to my writing, but one thing I remember quite clearly is the first time I saw this finished issue. I believe it was at Fallcon and I remember loving every page. Then I got to this last page and the gag with Stella wearing the fake mustache. It made me laugh and I thought it was a perfect end to the story. But I didn’t write it, I guess Danno had just added it in as he was drawing it. Now some people might get angry about an artist messing with their scripts, but I generally think that funny beats ego, and this was funny. So the next time I talked to Danno I made a point to compliment him on his addition to the story, telling him how awesome I thought it was. At which point Dannoyou looked at me like I was drunk and told me it was in the script. I believe him, because I’ve done the same thing to Bob (Lipski) countless times, but I really don’t remember writing that at all. So I just felt like a big jerk, going “Oh look how funny I am!”  But I got over it and we’ve done a lot of quality work since then.  Well, we’ve done a lot of work, anyway.

   Ok…here goes 8000 and 1:  THANK YOU, BRIAN!!!  Fear not, Brian will be back before you know it with more commentary on some MANLY TALES work we did together.  Not only will be back, but once he’s here he won’t be going anywhere for a couple months.  So…take that however you will.

   Finally, as you “fans of chronology”out there may realize, tomorrow is JANUARY 1st, 2010.  Other than it meaning we can finally put the horrible Bush-Era “Aughts” behind us once and for all and gear up for reals to live thru the horrible Obama(and Pawlenty Probably)-Era “Tens”, it also means something kinda special for me and STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics) in general.  So after you sober up, be sure to stop back here sometime this weekend and see what that is.  Until then enjoy some Ghost Rider.  Thanks.

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 24(of 24–THE END!!!), also: Ghost Rider, and Tomorrow is 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


