28
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 21(of 24), also: Indy Comic Week

 

We’re in the home stretch!  Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:   I love the panel of Jimmy screaming to the heavens that Atlantis Lad is dead. He’s so upset over someone he barely knows, but I suppose Sidekicks have a sacred bond that we non-sidekick types just can’t understand.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  I love the fact there are nine panels on this page.  I’ve since gotten very used to it, but in our first collaboration here I remember thinking many times “HOW THE HELL AM I GOING TO GET THIS ALL ON ONE PAGE?!?!”  If I did this today I’d probably lay it out with at least 3 fewer panels, but the learning experience has been fun over these last two years.

BASTIAN:  Oh and, here, let me try this once…SPOILER ALERT! : This won’t be the last time I imply that Fleming eats the dead Atlantis Lad’s.

KLONOWSKI:  That is totally your bit.  It’s an angle of Fleming I don’t think I would have done.  Yes, I DID have him cook an Atlantis Lad in issue one, but I don’t think I’d have ever had Fleming eat that dish.  But having you write such things really helped lead MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE down a dark (but FUN!) path right quick.

BASTIAN:  I also worked really hard to get the previous line about bacon, just for this payoff right here.  Yep, that’s it.

   It’s INDY COMIC WEEK!  What does that mean?  Well, it means there will be no publisher books released this week, so several comic shops around the country are asking indy cartoonists and self-publishers to be the suppliers of fresh comics this week.  Here in Minneapolis/St Paul uber-comic shop THE SOURCE COMICS AND GAMES is not only taking part, but also having a in-store signing/creator meet and greet WEDNESDAY (December 30th) from 5pm to 9pm.  I’ll be there, along with several fellow Conspirators and other local indy artists.  Stop on by, say hi, and buy some comics!

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 21(of 24), also: Indy Comic Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


