22
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 17(of 24), also: “Continuity Guy”

Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I really like how Betsy and Fleming are having the conversation about lying to Tommy Chicago with Tommy Chicago right there in the background, and you really can’t argue with Fleming’s logic about lying.  That could be a first for him?
DANNO KLONOWSKI:  A first?  You mean Fleming being logical when it comes to misdeeds?  No.  He’s pretty much based his life around that kind of logic.  So has TC, me thinks.  This is why they are champions of modern America.
 
BASTIAN:  Speaking of background characters, the 4 readers of Tommy Chicago might recognize Dino running around in the background on this and a few other pages. The reason he doesn’t have any lines is because I was working on getting rid of him in the comic. I was doing the same with the Ugly Rose, but if I remember correctly (and we all know I don’t) you really wanted to use him. So we used him and it worked out well. I still got rid of him in a future issue of Tommy Chicago though.
 
KLONOWSKI:  Yeah, a lot of this issue was contingent upon the Rose and Weezer being in it (which is why I worked Weezer in when he really wasn’t written to have screen time on the first page).  And yes, while you did work The Ugly Rose OUT of the “Tommy Chicago” series, you forgot to tell the dear readers that I’ve totally stolen him from you.  Look for his return (and probable renaming to “THE EVIL ROSE”) in MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #8!!! (Hopefully that’ll be done Fall 2010).
   Also:  Goddamn!  We’re just weeks–WEEKS!!!–away from seeing Bud’s final pages of the CONTINUITY GUY graphic novella.  Follow the white rabbit and start reading today!
 
  Speaking of CONTINUITY GUY, here’s a pin-up I recently did that (I have a feeling) just might end up in the print edition come April…
0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 17(of 24), also: “Continuity Guy””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


