16
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 13(of 24), also: “Bumblebee #1” comes out today!!! (and Clayface makes a brief cameo)

Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  This is probably the 2nd biggest action scene in the comic, woo.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  I think you meant “action”, Brian.  And I know I intentionally designed Fleming so you’d never see his eyes or mouth(which ARE there), but looking at this page right now I can’t help but wonder “How the hell does he eat, anyway?”
BASTIAN:  I really can’t think of anything else to say for this page.  Maybe it’s a side effect from writing out 5 pages of commentary at a time, or maybe the readers deserve a break from my constant whining.
KLONOWSKI:   My friend Matt recently told me he has no idea whats going on with this blog, what with all the “backwards” page order(as you scroll down) and the commentary and the random superhero drawings.  Not that I’m whining, mind you.  I think it’s funny.  We could post chapters from MOBY DICK at this point and I don’t think anyone would be the wiser.
   Also:  Issue #1 of the “TRANSFORMERS: BUMBLEBEE” mini-series from IDW comes out today. 
    To be honest, I don’t read Transformers comics and probably wouldn’t normally recommend you buy them…unless you’re really into Transformers.  IDW also seems to be doing a decent job of making licensed comics–if you forget that whole ANGEL debacle they have going on….and believe you me, I have—so if you’re into reading the furthur adventures of your favorite TV shows and movies (“GALAXY QUEST”, anyone?), this might also be a comic of interest to you.  But here’s the 2 shampoo simple reasons why BUMBLEBEE #1 interests ME:
    1)  It is written by my buddy ZANDER CANNON (who is also writing IDW’s “STAR TREK: TNG: GHOSTS” mini-series), and
    2)  One of the main characters is a military man by the name of LT. KLONOWSKI!!!
   That’s right!  Dear, sweet Zander worked me into the TRANSFORMERS universe **(The Generation:1 universe, that is.  The “good” Transformers universe).  This is basically a childhood dream come true.  And the dream just gets better and better–wait until you see issue 4 in March! 
    So, yes…please go out and buy this mini-series.  I know Zander would appreciate it, and I’m really, really hopeful Lt. Klonowski will be such a hit he’ll get his title.  Who wouldn’t want to read that?
   Finally, I did a Daily Goal Sketch yesterday that totally makes up for (in my mind, anyway) the awful one I did Monday.  So here’s Clayface (THE BATMAN version.  Not my choice.  I always dug the BATMAN: THE ANIMATED SERIES look to him):
  ** Technically, “Dan-o Klonowski” makes his debut in “TRANSFORMERS: ALL HAIL MEGATRON” #16.  So if you’re a Klonowski completist (and who isn’t), you should pick that up.  My favorite irony about that issue is that Decepticon leader Megatron doesn’t actual make an appearance anywhere within the pages of a comic called “ALL HAIL MEGATRON”.  WTF?!
0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 13(of 24), also: “Bumblebee #1” comes out today!!! (and Clayface makes a brief cameo)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


