09
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 8(of 24), also: Captain America, and I f*ck cake

Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  Ah, here are the stars of the book. 

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  You forgot to put ”  ”  around “stars”.

BASTIAN: If my memory is correct (and if this review of the issue has proven anything, it isn’t..) the main plot of the story was going to hinge on Fleming being a super scientist. Which I thought he was. I didn’t do the smart thing and ask you, but most of my ideas of the characters were taken from issue 1, which was the hot dish issue. So I assumed that because he was trying to make a super secret hot dish that it automatically made him a super scientist.  Also the way he dressed!  And he had a robot! (which I didn’t know wasn’t really a robot, but we’ll get to that in a bit too..ugh) Anyway once I found out he wasn’t a scientist, it actually motivated me to find a way to work that into the story, proving once again that in some cases limits will help

 KLONOWSKI:  I’ve already apologized for having you write this with so little actual material to refer to, but I’ll do so again.  Sorry, Brian.  But we learned from this.  In pretty much all future collaborations we’ve been pretty open with questions and feedback. 

BASTIAN:  I also don’t know if this Atlantis Lad is actually shorter than the last Atlantis Lad, but I thought it would be a clever way to let a new reader know that this Atlantis Lad was new.

KLONOWSKI:  As did I.  I was already pretty self-conscious about Atlantis Lad being linked to ‘Kenny’ or any other character who dies with any kind of regularity, so after his origin in issue 2 I tended to just let him die and not mention it, but I think the way you tackled it was head-on and clever.

BASTIAN:  Atlantis Lad not being able to speak was another thing that threw me off.  I’m sure I tried the old “Well maybe this one is a mutant who can speak” tactic, but no go. 

KLONOWSKI:  Yeah, I certainly remember a lengthy email where I explained no talking/not a robot/not a scientist stuff.  Have I said ‘sorry’ yet?

BASTIAN:  When your writing style is very heavy on the dialogue, and very light on the direction, like mine is..well it proves that in some cases limits don’t really help.

KLONOWSKI:   And sometime limits are neglectfully ignored/forgotten…like when the writer has a character talk about parallel parking parking and the artist draws his vehicle which has clearly not parallel parked, but rather just landed.  There would have needed to be a car in front of and behind the ‘Flying Hazmat’ for parallel parking to have taken place.  But enough with the peeing on our own shoes…

   Also,  here’s todays Daily Goal Sketch which I forgot at work and didn’t post yesterday.  But yesterday my client was sick so had I posted this Tuesday there’d be no sketch today.  Is that fate?  If so, it’s kinda lame fate.

   Finally, this all really happened…

1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 8(of 24), also: Captain America, and I f*ck cake”


  1. 12/09/2009 at 09:34

    The more I hear/see about this whole cake thing, the more disturbing it seems. Do you have to go to all the bakeries in your neighborhood and introduce yourself?


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


