07
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 6(of 24), also: The Mighty Wolverine (*SNICKT*)

Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  Hey! It’s Tommy Chicago and the gang. As it has been pointed out in many places (but one more won’t hurt) All the Tommy Chicago characters were designed by Bob Lipski, and I think you did a great job of keeping his style to the characters but still bringing a lot new stuff to them.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Thanks.  As that this was the actual first time drawing TC and company(outside a couple pre-production exercises), it was an interesting challenge to take Bob’s stuff and try to adapt it.  Since Bob’s heads are usually circles or ‘coffee cups’, it was fun trying to figure out things like “What does Tommy Chicago’s head look like from straight on angle (like in panel 5)?”  Also, figuring out how things like the Dino’s (both the in and exterior) existed in space was a fun challenge.

BASTIAN:  One of the things I always like to do with Tommy Chicago is to mention some odd case that he just solved, but explain it as little as possible. Some people might call it lazy writing…and I say, what’s so wrong about that?

KLONOWSKI:  I think it’s funny cause in the course of an average issue of TOMMY CHICAGO, TC rarely if ever solves a case.  It’s a nice contradiction.

BASTIAN:  I like the little bit of foreshadowing you do here, but I won’t say anymore about it until later in the book.

KLONOWSKI:  And that’s why your high school nickname “SPOILER ALERT” was earned not from being a pop culture blabbermouth, but because you sold out the cafeteria staff to those undercover news reporters.  But yes, the whole “gun shot in the third act should be seen in the first” is nice and subtle.  I think that was in the script, but don’t remember for sure.  Either way, if you were standning next to me I’d high-five you right now.

    Also, I can’t believe the subject of today’s Daily Goal Sketch too this long to show up. 

   Here we go again with a “X-Men: Evolution” version of the costume, which I only drew Logan in cause that’s what was requested.  I was always much taken with the “laziest” costume he ever had.

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 6(of 24), also: The Mighty Wolverine (*SNICKT*)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


