04
Dec
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 5(of 24), also: Cyclops

Issue 4 of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE was drawn by myself, but written by BRIAN BASTIAN (whose characters from his book TOMMY CHICAGO are guest starring).  Now our thoughts on this page:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I don’t know how long it took me to spell Fleming Hazmat correctly. I’m sure I spelled it “Flemming” at least a thousand times. Someday I’ll be able to afford an editor.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Luckily I was there to say “Listen jackass, it’s spelled ‘F-L-E-M-I-N-G’!…and Atlantis Lad doesn’t talk!…and Betsy isn’t really a robot!!!” the whole way through.

BASTIAN:  I own a dictionary of British slang, can you tell I was dying to use it.  The dialogue was based more around trying to get as much slang as possible than moving the plot along, and even then I only came up with two. This was when I learned British Slang isn’t as exciting as I had imagined.

KLONOWSKI:  That’s funny because when I came up with Britishworth, I wanted to work in more slang myself but when I couldn’t think of too many appropriate places to work it in.  So instead I just had him say “Old Bean” over and over to the point of absurdity.  That made my laziness less obvious, I think.  Also, I remember panel 4/5 being one of my favorite things to draw in this issue.

   Today’s Daily Goal Sketch is Cyclops from the X-Men.  Again, my client and I see differently on the “best” costume for a character.  He wanted X-MEN: EVOLUTION Cyclops, whereas I would have gone with classic Kirby X-Men #1 Cyclops.  Either way, I think it turned out ok, but still think Mike Sgier’s recent “Joss Whedon” Cyclops is better.

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–by Brian Bastian and myself–pg 5(of 24), also: Cyclops”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


