27
Nov
09

“UPTOWN GIRL CROSSOVER”–pg 11(of 11), also: a word from Bob Lipski

    THE END, indeed.  Sure, that was a pretty much pointless story, but it was fun to finally get out of my system.  I thank BOB LIPKSI for having the good humor of allowing me to post the implied defiling of one of his characters here.  Thanks, BOB! (More from Bob in a second…)    As for that nebulous last panel, what they are referring to are events take place prior to the CONTINUITY GUY graphic novel, and when that comes out in print in April 2010, the above panel will finally be explained….maybe.   Unduly confusing?  Yes.  But thats how I like to do it.

   Also,  there is no Daily Goal Sketch today, cause I didn’t have work Thursday (and don’t today, so no DGS on Monday either–sorry).  Instead, allow me to introduce UPTOWN GIRL creator BOB LIPSKI who has some thoughts on UPTOWN GIRL, and the crossover you just read.  Bob…

      Uptown Girl was never supposed to be the main character in a comic book. 

     She started off, in my head anyway, as a supporting cast member in a comic called “Punk Love”.  I was drawing a webcomic called “Fake Farm Landscape” at the time that was very off the cuff.  Sort of a biographical comic, lots of swearing, talking about sex and everything else.  “Punk Love” was originally going to continue the foul mouthed fun but more fictional. 

     “Punk Love” never saw print…and I never created anything more than a few character designs.  But it was supposed to be a back up feature in the original ‘Tommy Chicago’ series.  ‘Tommy Chicago’, created by Brian Bastian, is now in its third series and is drawn by Danno.  I drew the second series which ran for 12 issues and also had a few anthologies stories here and there.  The first series didn’t, and will never see print.  I drew about one and a half issues and that was the end of it.  This was back in….2001, I think.  The art was horrible, and Brian and I just didn’t have the discipline to follow through with it.  Too bad, the second issue started off with how Tommy Chicago met his sidekick Jimmy. 

      Anyway, in the cast of the first ‘Tommy Chicago’ series was a guy named Jake who had a mohawk and was just a scrappy punk rocker.  I thought it’d be fun to spin Jake off into his own series.  I stared to jot down ideas and I thought it’d be fun to have the series take place in the uptown area of Minneapolis .  One of the supporting cast members was a girl named ‘Uptown Girl’, a very happy and helpful person who was friends with Jake.  Soon Uptown Girl became more appealing to me and I started to give HER supporting cast members. 

      Bored at work one day, I drew the entire first issue of “Uptown Girl”.  And the characters literally came alive on the page in front of me.  Whereas I thought Uptown Girl’s world would be the same R-rated world that “Punk Love” was going to be, Uptown Girl’s world was sweet, innocent, funny and a little naïve.  I fully intended to bring the debauchery to her world, but dammit, it just wouldn’t work. 

      I get criticized a lot for how squeaky clean my comic could get, but I didn’t mind.  I saw the “all ages” feel of it a challenge to tell entertaining stories.  I felt a little silly for…I dunno, “rejecting” Danno’s story because of the…uh, escapades in his comic.  But the audience of ‘Uptown Girl’ also dictated the writing.  ‘Uptown Girl’ attracted a very young audience early on.  My first piece of fan mail was from a nine year old girl.  After I started getting letters and parents buying books as gifts for their kids, I just couldn’t taint Uptown Girl’s world…even if the closet stuff was very open to interpretation.  So I always erred on the side of extreme caution.  Maybe becoming a parent has changed me more than I thought. 

     So I always felt bad for not publishing Danno’s story.  I am very happy to see it here and I’m glad he has the chance to show it off. 

   Thanks again, Bob!  You said ‘taint’, by the way…pervert.  As for next week…umm…I’ll think of something.  Maybe I’ll get back on track with posting the MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE series.  Yeah, that sounds like a good idea.  So be back here Monday for MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4–featuring some thoughts by me and guest writer for that issue BRIAN BASTIAN!  See you then.

0 Responses to ““UPTOWN GIRL CROSSOVER”–pg 11(of 11), also: a word from Bob Lipski”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


