11
Nov
09

PLUNGER-MAN–by Ryan Dow and myself–pgs 8 and 9(of 11), also: Kevin Cannon, Magnificent Son-Of-A-Bitch

M&F_Jabbagazule_page_08

pgs 8 and 9

This story is written, pencilled and greytoned by RYAN DOW, and inked and lettered by myself.  It first appeared in MUSCLES AND FRIGHTS.  I’m giving you two ages today cause to not not would just be wrong.  Anyway,  some thoughts on todays pages…

RYAN DOW:  Page eight–Danno actually asked me if it was okay to have a lot of gore when inking the shredding tentacles.  He didn’t really need to ask.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  I didn’t want to offend your delicate and introspective sensibilities.

RD:  Also, the last panel was really difficult to draw.  I drew that pose about fifteen times before I got it close to right.  It’s not like I could photo-reference myself jumping off a roof.  Or can I?

DK:  You could have, but thankfully you didn’t cause Single-Payer Health Care is off the table.  The bastards.

RD:  Page nine–This is awesome.  In one version of the script, Jabbagazule swallowed Plunger-Man and Plunger-Man burst through his stomach.

DK:  Now THAT would have offended MY delicate and introspective sensibilities!

RD:  I’m so glad we went with this version.  It has so much more energy.

  Yay!  Two pages!  That was fun.  Anyway, if you don’t already know (and if you are reading these words you probably do), KEVIN CANNON has posted his I-Con wrap-up.  As I mentioned yesterday, Kevin did some amazing drawing last Saturday including the following wonderful FLEMING HAZMAT pin-up:

Kevin Cannon Icon09_fleming_

   Also, in the newest MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE (#6–which you can get from me next time you see me. It’ll also be up here sometime next year), I have a little fun with Kevin’s ARMY SHANKS character.  So Kevin has some back.  And he wins.

Kevin Cannon Icon09_shanks

     In addition to what you see here,  Kevin’s posting over at the BIG TIME ATTIC BLOG also includes Shanks on ice, a self-portrait by your’s truely, and pure horror. 

*** BTW: just cause you’re getting the PLUNGER-MAN milk for free, you should still totally buy the MUSCLES AND FRIGHTS cow.  It’s full of a ton of great stuff from some wonderful creators.  But…you don’t have to take my word for it.

1 Response to “PLUNGER-MAN–by Ryan Dow and myself–pgs 8 and 9(of 11), also: Kevin Cannon, Magnificent Son-Of-A-Bitch”


  1. 11/17/2009 at 21:12

    i really like the one color gray on plunger man. just a simple shade makes that comic pop. love the playful style too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


