31
Oct
09

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!–from staplegenius.com(ics) and ryandow.com

pencils by me, inks by RYAN DOW

   HAPPY HALLOWEEN weekend everybody!  The above jam by myself and RYAN DOW was done about a year and a half ago as a part of  our contribution to MUSLCES AND FRIGHTS.  In addition to what you see, we also did an 11 page story starring Ryan’s PLUNGER-MAN in a tale called “THE CURSE OF JABBAGAZULE!”  It was written and pencilled by Ryan, and inked and lettered by me.   As fate would have it, starting MONDAY I’m going to start posting that very tale right here at STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)!  As well as getting a fresh new page everyday, you’ll get some steaming hot commentary by Ryan and myself.  Here’s an example featuring todays jam piece:

RYAN DOW:  Danno really wanted me to ink his pencils for some reason.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Come on, Ryan!  If I’m going to ink you for 11 pages, it only stands you should ink me at least once, right?!  Plus drawing is fun.

RD:  I’m not really sure why I think inking is one of my weaker skills. 

DK:  Cause you are too hard on yourself.  And frankly your inking has become super tight in the year and a half since we did this.   Also, I think inking is all about finding the tool that suites each artist.  I thought I was a shite inker until I started using a Pentel Pocket Brush.  Then I became a shite inker who could feather.  But I was CONFIDANT! 

RD:   It was a lot of fun, though.  Danno’s pencils are a lot tighter than mine, so it was fun inking clear pencils for a change.

DK:   I love how it turned out.  Maybe we should color it.  It would make a nice print to sell at Fallcon next year.

            *** SEE!  That’s the kind of creator-on-creator gold you can expect over the next couple weeks!  Wooo! ***
     Also, while I’ve got you here…I should point out Ryan just did a great homage to both Halloween and Charles Dickens over at his own webcomic INTROSPECTIVE COMICSWWW.RYANDOW.COM — It updates every Wednesday and Sunday and is a mighty good read. 

Ok, that’s all.   Ryan and I will see you back here Monday for page one of…”THE CURSE OF JABBAGAZULE!” ***

 

 *** BTW: just cause you’re getting the PLUNGER-MAN milk for free, you should still totally buy the MUSCLES AND FRIGHTS cow.  It’s full of a ton of great stuff from some wonderful creators.  But…you don’t have to take my word for it.

1 Response to “HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!–from staplegenius.com(ics) and ryandow.com”


  1. 10/31/2009 at 17:50

    I didn’t mean to say I was bad at inking. I just have a hard time geeking out about it like a lot of cartoonists, so my inks tend to be straightforward. Maybe one day I will learn to love feathering.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


