28
Oct
09

SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE–24 Hour Comic 2009–Covers! Continuity Guy! Carlos!

cover--godless, communist edition

   Ok, I lied yesterday. We’re not quite done with SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE and 24 Hour Comic Day 2009 yet.

   After the event was over…days after…I got down to doing some covers for the inevitable print edition.  I actually did the front cover twice.  And for purities sake I tried to sticking to the 24 Hour ethos and did each cover in an hour timeframe.   I’m not 100% satisfied with the above front cover image, but I wasn’t satisfied with my first attempt either.  I think I need to do it one more time and combine the text of the above with the image from this:

SMV24hr--cover

    I’ll bet you can even do that sort of amalgamating on a computer nowadays.  I’ll have to hire a 6 years old to show me how.  Anyway… I think it was Plato who said “If there is a front cover, there must be a back one too, dummy!”  So here’s that:

SMV24hr--backcover

   As you can see, my back cover is a “cover” of the GI JOE comic I used as a random idea generator during 24 Hour Comic Day.  Pretty clever!  Well…not really, but I have an excellent back-up plan.  See, towards the end of the event Conspirator CARLOS MERINO (who literally puts the ‘International’ back into INTERNATIONAL CARTOONIST CONSPIRACY) handed me the following awesomeness:

Me, as seen thru the bleary, tired, Spanish eyes of Carlos Merino

   I’m not sure what Carlos means by “I COMMAND THIS EVENT”.  I think he’s trying to say I am the local ‘organizer’ of 24 Hour Day.   That, or after 24 hours of being awake, I was literally trying to steer Book Arts.  Who can say?  And by “LUCKY” I think he means he’s grateful I didn’t resort to cannibalism. 

   So, that’s that done.  And don’t forget to check out this weeks page of CONTINUITY GUY, the graphic novella I wrote and BUD BURGY is carving into wonderfulness.  One of the ‘STAPLEGENIUS FOUR’–the mythical and hermitic NELS himself–makes a cameo!

2 Responses to “SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE–24 Hour Comic 2009–Covers! Continuity Guy! Carlos!”


  1. 1 Jessaroo
    10/30/2009 at 06:27

    For some reason, picturing you steering Book Arts hit me right in the LOL bone.

  2. 10/30/2009 at 12:43

    Thank you for introducing me to your community 😀

    “command (commands plural & 3rd person present) (commanding present participle) (commanded past tense & past participle )
    […]
    3 verb If an army or country commands a place, they have total control over it. (=rule)
    Yemen commands the strait at the southern end of the Red Sea.?

    I wanted to use the verb in that way… But it’s not a secret I have to improve my English skills.

    😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


