14
Oct
09

SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE–24 Hour Comic 2009–pg 10(of 24), also: ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ and a pin-up by AMADO RODRIGUEZ

pg 10

pg 10

   OK,  so here we go with another AMAZING STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics) ORIGIN STORY!!! : 

   As I was “writing” this story in my head on 24 Hour Comic Day, I decided to have SMV fight a Right-Winger who shops at the Godless Communist Co-op.  This stems not from the ridiculousness of such a situation, but rather because my own local godless communist co-op who supports nothing BUT a left-wing lifestyle–including their almost comically leftist magazine racks at the checkout–would not carry copies of FALSE WITNESS: THE MICHELE BACHMANN STORY.  I was told there are evidently some conservatives who shop at my co-op and they don’t want to offend them…with one product…out of the thousands to choose from. 

     Anyway, when I came up with the scenario I decided I would name the character CLAY BERTRAND–which you may recognize as the alias for CLAY SHAW who was one of the conspirators in the JFK assassination (if you believe that kind of thing).  Also cause my  friend Matt Risnes and I always laughed our asses off at Tommy Lee Jones reading of the line “CLAY BERTRAND” during the scene of his arrest in the movie JKF.

   Well as 24 Hour Comic Day wore on, I finally got to the pencilling/actual writing phase of this page (a couple hours in to the event) I completely blanked on what I was going to call him.  My mind raced and raced, but the name CLAY BERTRAND was gone.  So instead I named him REICH after KEVIN REICH, a great progressive fellow who is actually running for City Council here in Northeast Minneapolis. I wish him all the best, and should he somehow not win(unlikely) I will fully take the blame that this very comic was the stake in heart that did him in.  So…don’t forget to vote….whenever it is people do that. **

 AND THERE’S MORE !!! 

BUD BURGY will have TWO new pages of our CONTINUITY GUY graphic novella up this week, and they are sweet! 

Also, AMADO RODRIGUEZ of MUSCLES AND FIGHTS fame did this amazing MANLY TALES pin-up:

Amado--pinup

  Amado also did an equally awesome MANLY TALES pin-up two years ago at FALLCON which will finally see the light of day next month when MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #6 is printed! (You’ll have to wait awhile until it’s online here)

   Is that enough content for a Wednesday?  See you tomorrow.

**November 3rd.

2 Responses to “SUPERMARKET VIGILANTE–24 Hour Comic 2009–pg 10(of 24), also: ‘CONTINUITY GUY’ and a pin-up by AMADO RODRIGUEZ”


  1. 1 lupiloops
    10/16/2009 at 21:41

    I’m lovin all the pinups.

  2. 10/17/2009 at 07:41

    Me too!
    It’s probably my favorite part of having such wildly talented friends.
    I totally can’t wait for Vas to finish her MANLY TALES 3 pager so I can post that too.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


