25
Sep
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–Guest Artist Spectacular–pg 14(of 14)–by Zander Cannon and Brian Bastian

pg 14--art: Zander Cannon, words: Brian Bastian

pg 14--art: Zander Cannon, words: Brian Bastian

   BRIAN BASTIAN:  Will be giving you a piece of his mind on Mondays post.  For serious.

   ZANDER CANNON:  Once upon a time 9 years ago I showed a very rough and crude mini-comic called STAPLEGENIUS (#2, I believe) to Zander Cannon and he laughed.  Not at it (though he should have), but with it.  This laugh inspired me greatly since I had been one of the eight fans of CHAINSAW VIGILANTE, the TICK spin-off Zander did.  Then, years later, Zander said to me on at least two seperate occasions that MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE is his favorite mini-comic.  Again…inspiring!  But this time not just cause of some silly, short-lived series he did in the early 90’s, but because of his later work on REPLACEMENT GOD, TOP TEN, SMAX, and his many science-based books he’s done with his studio-mate KEVIN CANNON like BONESHARPS, COWBOYS, AND THUNDERLIZARDS.  Also, he’s a Co-Conspiratorand friend who has faith–actual faith!–in my work.  Frankly, I couldn’t see any other way to end this GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR then with Zander, cause let’s be honest–this whole website and the comics contained herein are at least 28% his fault.

   All that gushiness aside, the GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR doesn’t TECHNICALLY end here…  Come back Monday for the traditional MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE “end of the issue” PIN-UP!  I shall warn you here and now–it’s SPECTACULAR!!!  See you then.

11 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–Guest Artist Spectacular–pg 14(of 14)–by Zander Cannon and Brian Bastian”


  1. 09/25/2009 at 07:07

    Atlantis Lad is sooooo cute in this! Great ending to a great story!

  2. 09/25/2009 at 08:37

    I agree with Ryan. Great ending to the story. Especially with Zander handling it. That first panel and the layout is especially great. Kudos to King Zander! Also, is this the first time we’ve seen Fleming with his glasses off? I mean, I know that he is able to swallow his glasses with that wonky eye cavity thing, but has he ever ACTUALLY taken off his glasses before?

  3. 09/25/2009 at 09:05

    Actually, I think the guy in panel 4 is supposed to be the Col. Sanders guy from Earl’s page.

  4. 09/25/2009 at 09:09

    SWEEET! I agree, great first panel, of course! I’m pretty sure thats the guy from EARL’s page with his glasses off-a flashback panel. SO no, FLEMING’s EYES have yet to be naked

    • 09/25/2009 at 17:27

      Yep. That’s Earls monk/guardian in flashback (interesting fact: That scene was written as Fleming just thinking. Zander just went that extra mile to include a call-back to page 2). And just for the record–we have never seen Flemings eyes, but we have seen his mouth once though (drawn by me, I should say). The first person to tell when that was wins…uhh…something.

  5. 6 lupiloops
    09/25/2009 at 12:45

    Great ending! Double death!

  6. 7 Earl
    09/25/2009 at 22:48

    Page 2 is the coolest page I could have ever gotten! One of the page descriptions suggested having Flemming clean his glasses and I almost tried to do something, but was to chicken-shit to set a standard…It would be Flemming’s back turned with his glasses off.

    But I opted for wiping hands…Which sucks to draw…

    For the record: That’s my guy! Zander even added the little cane, whith makes my heart melt. Thank Zander! You made a little boys dream come true!

  7. 09/26/2009 at 11:01

    Fine. I was wrong. Nevermind.

  8. 9 Jessaroo
    09/27/2009 at 05:28

    I just realized that on my page Fleming calls A-Lad “chum” as they prepare to enter the first test, which ends up with him actually becoming chum. Intentional foreshadowing, Brian? Hmmmm???

    • 09/27/2009 at 07:27

      Oh how I wish I was that clever. The only foreshadowing was the “..nothing more precious than the life of a child.” line. In fact in the script I didn’t actually say what happens to Atlantis Lad, he’s killed off panel and then you see Fleming covered in blood. The whole chicken theme was all Earl and it added about a thousand levels of awesome to the original script.

      The “Chum” was most likely a combination of the fact that in my head Hazmat sounds like Adam West and a line from the Simpsons where I think Bart and Milhouse are talking and Bart says something like “nice doing business with you, Chummmmmp.”

      • 11 Jessaroo
        10/03/2009 at 00:10

        All I know is I thought it was one of the best dialogue gags in the whole thing, and I loved the way the whole story turned out. It was really really fun to see each page show up and deliver its surprise. Well done! Oh, and Earl is awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


