22
Sep
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–Guest Artist Spectacular–pg 11(of 14)–by Dan Murphy and Brian Bastian

pg 11--art: Dan Murphy, words: Brian Bastian

pg 11--art: Dan Murphy, words: Brian Bastian

   BRIAN BASTIAN–knows why the caged bird sings.  He also makes a mint off the blackmail money this kind of knowledge brings about.

   DAN MURPHY–what more can I say about DAN MURPHY that I haven’t already?  I dunno…probably lots.  But I’ll instead just say that Dan and I will have a PHIL, THE  EVIL BEAN OF DOOM comic debuting at FALLCON.  This book will reprint the PHIL story we did 15 years ago (but in new-fangled, computerized GREYTONES!),  AND AND AND features an ALL-NEW follow-up tale set 15 years later!!!  And if the above page is any indication, you know it’s going to be fantastic.  Speaking of fantastic:  Heres something I pencilled and Dan inked about 17 years ago….

manman

   Yeah, you know you’re jealous of my keen grasp of anatomy at such an early age.

8 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–Guest Artist Spectacular–pg 11(of 14)–by Dan Murphy and Brian Bastian”


  1. 09/22/2009 at 07:37

    GROSS, but awesome. Reminds me of a SHEL SILVWRSTEIN story

  2. 3 Earl
    09/22/2009 at 08:07

    I want in on a Man’s Mans guest comic!

  3. 09/22/2009 at 08:49

    I don’t know which I like better, the 3-legged zombie race or the “Man Files: 001”. I think every comics geek in the 90’s made a character sheet like Man-Man’s at some point. Except mine was called “The Delusion” and it was, like, totally serious.

    • 09/22/2009 at 19:17

      This would be a fun anthology…one I think we’ve discussed before, Ryan…all crap we thought up as a kid redone as an adult. If possible: just redraw an old comic but leaving the script as:is.

      And if I ever get REALLY desperate for material on this here blog I have ISSUES AND ISSUES of “MAN-MAN” to post.

      …and ISSUES AND ISSUES AND ISSUES!

  4. 6 lupiloops
    09/22/2009 at 10:59

    Holy tits, that is hilarious.

  5. 09/22/2009 at 21:46

    I remember you giving me those early issues of MAN-MAN when we first met, they must have been like 30 something pages, they were pretty cool to my junior high mind.
    Also the PHIL follow up is about halfway done, hopefully finish up this week and get it toned and lettered by end of the month.

    • 09/22/2009 at 22:18

      Ahhh, yes…nothing cranks the deadline vice tighter than stating in public you’re working on something. HA! But seriously…I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE THIS NEW PHIL STORY!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


