15
Sep
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR–pg 6(of 14)–by Mike Toft and Brian Bastian

pg 6-- art: Mike Toft, words: Brian Bastian

pg 6-- art: Mike Toft, words: Brian Bastian

BRIAN BASTIAN— A Writer? I thought McFarlane and Liefeld proved writers were passe 18 years ago?!  Who let him in?

MIKE TOFT— Ah, the sturdy wrist of Mike Toft.  As I’ve noted before, I owe a debt of gratitude to Mike Toft.  He’s a fabulous guy and a fabulous cartoonists.  Not  has he done his cracker-jack mini-comic BRAIN FOOD well over a decade (I think it qualifies for “Respected Institution” status now!), but he’s a founding member of the Minneapolis Cell of the International Cartoonists Conspiracy, a good chap to sit next to at a convention, and always there contributing strong for local comics projects like BIG FUNNY, MUSCLES AND FIGHTSALLEY CAT, and LUTEFISK SUSHI.  Now if we can just get him to do a 24 HOUR COMIC…a twelve hour comic?….eight?!…Come on, Mike!   Anyway…rumor has it Mike will not only have some fresh BRAIN FOOD for FALLCON, but he will also be lauching his own website SOON, SOON, SOON!!!  Stay tuned.

  Also:  A Moment of Silence, if you please…

 

8 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR–pg 6(of 14)–by Mike Toft and Brian Bastian”


  1. 1 lupiloops
    09/15/2009 at 09:06

    Funny!

    Poor Swayze. This calls for a special viewing of the best worst movies ever.

    • 09/15/2009 at 18:14

      Like the HIGHLY overrated “GHOST”? “RED DAWN”?

      • 3 lupiloops
        09/15/2009 at 19:02

        I don’t think I’ve even seen Ghost all the way through, but it can’t be as overrated as Dirty Dancing (I can’t stomach that one). I’m thinkin’ Red Dawn and Road House. They are awesomely bad.

  2. 09/15/2009 at 09:40

    I’ll be in my room watching Road House, and crying in my beer.

  3. 09/15/2009 at 17:44

    Mike, for the first couple panels I thought you were trying to out-simplify my simplification of Fleming Hazmat!

    (Thinking how I can work in the Swayze-ism, “Nobody puts Baby in a corner,” but it just doesn’t seem to work.)

  4. 09/15/2009 at 19:12

    So I read this thinking…”That guy looks a lot like Danno!”

    …And then I realized this is Manly Tales.

    *Bashes head against wall*

    Must get more sleep…

  5. 09/15/2009 at 19:34

    Classic Mike Toft. Love it. And I’m really diggin’ the weird bald guy in the speedo. He kind of looks like the mens room logo itself. Wish there was a CAT NIJA thrown in there somewhere…

  6. 09/15/2009 at 19:36

    ALSO- lovin the perspective of those last two panels. Great shot of the leg goin into the stall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


