09
Sep
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR–pg 2(of 14)–by Earl Luckes and Brian Bastian, also: “phenomenal tangets” goes “kirby-vision”

pg 2: art--Earl Luckes, words: Brian Bastian

pg 2: art--Earl Luckes, words: Brian Bastian

   About the kick-ass creators of this page:

  BRIAN BASTIAN writes stuff.  He may have even written this.  Who is to say?

  EARL LUCKES is a man on a mission, and if this lover of comics and 70’s culture had a theme song, it would certainly be THIS one (thanks Mark and Jerzy)!  Earl burst into comics like no sane person should–by challenging himself to do a 24 HOUR COMIC!  After that Earl became a Conspiracy semi-regular and contributed some might fine work to anthologies like ALLEY CATSUPER FANTASTICA COMIX, BIG FUNNY, and the MUSCLES AND FIGHTSempire.  Earl’s stuff is raw, and tough, and hellz fun–just like the 1970’s hero-ethic he tries to capture in his work–and I am honored he did this page.  OH YEAH!!!–and Earl makes short-films that take modern cinema schlock-meisters like Michael Bay and Steven Sommers to task for their bastardization of the medium.  Quite a talent.  Best of all, Earl assures me his very own webcomic is in the works, and I for one cannot wait!

  Also,  “PHENOMENAL TANGENTS“, the Kirby-inspired comic I did with Steven Stwalley, has been added to “KIRBY-VISION“, the Kirby Museum’s Blog tracking “THE KING’s” continuing influence.  Sweet!

  And one last parting shot–today’s guest artist EARL LUCKES fancies himself a Fleming Hazmat type…

Earl Hazmat

6 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–GUEST ARTIST SPECTACULAR–pg 2(of 14)–by Earl Luckes and Brian Bastian, also: “phenomenal tangets” goes “kirby-vision””


  1. 09/09/2009 at 07:37

    Wow, you guys got Atlantis Lad out of the way quick!

    • 09/09/2009 at 16:50

      We sure did! There’s a couple reasons for that, but I really don’t want to spoil anything yet (more thematic stuff than plot points) But I figured that anyone familiar with the characters knew he was toast, so why not get it out of the way early?

      • 09/09/2009 at 21:41

        I was just gunna suggest you write up some thoughts on each page and email’em to me to post so I can quit writing snarky bios for you each day, Brian. Then I remembered you requested not to see the pages ahead of time. So…I guess…I’ll just shut up now…

  2. 4 Earl
    09/09/2009 at 17:25

    I am honored to have been the one to draw it! Thank you! I hope it was gruesome enough for the over all story. I look forward to seeing the rest of this experiment!

  3. 5 Jessaroo
    09/10/2009 at 00:14

    Dude, that is one bad-ass lookin’ Haz. (The drawn one, I mean.) It’s like Fist of the North Star Hazmat. He needs a jetpack and a flamethrower with which to roast babies.

  4. 09/10/2009 at 08:49

    Danno, you’re getting a lot of traffic on the site now! This was a wonderful idea. I wish I was able to produce something a little more worthwhile for this now. Especially after seeing all of the great work so far!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


