04
Sep
09

PHENOMENAL TANGENTS–pg 25(of 26), also: David Lloyd randomly stops by…

pg 25

pg 25

    Ok, so I had originally planned to write a thing about the death of the MINICOMICS DUMP TRUCK here, but then last night this happened:

100_2869

   DAVID LLOYD, best known as the artist for the ground-breaking graphic novel V FOR VENDETTA, randomly showed up for the monthly Minneapolis meeting of the INTERNATIONAL CARTOONIST CONSPIRACY.  What happened was David ended up having nearly a full day lay-over while waiting for the next flight to Iceland.  With nothing better to do here in Mpls/St Paul he checked his Facebook “friends” and mine was the first name that popped up.  He checked out my profile, saw I was into comics, and sent me a message both via Facebook and my email that he was here and wondering if I would like to meet and chat. 

100_2889

MEANWHILE…I open my email, see David’s messages, and am convinced I am being targeted by the worlds most specific SPAM robot.  But figuring “What the Hell” I write back that the CONSPIRACY meeting is going on at DIAMONDS COFFEE SHOP and should this message be a attached to a real person that he should stop by.  He didn’t write back. I told a few Conspirators about this and all assumed it to be random, weird spam…or a stalker stealing Mr Lloyds identity…or something.  Either way it was dropped, and we went about our business.  Then about an hour into the jam comic meeting…

100_2864

So David hung out, talked with us,  checked out KEVIN AND ZANDER CANNON’s BIG TIME ATTIC studio, chatted it up with SARAH MOREAN and MATT KRISKE, and then….and then I don’t know what, cause I had go put the kids to bed and pick up my wife from school.  But after I picked her up we met up with some of the group–where did everyone else go?!– at THE YACHT CLUB BAR, and I had the foresight to bring my camera this time. 

100_2827

 

100_2846

100_2867

100_2876

100_2896

100_2907

Thanks for contacting me and stopping by the Conspiracy meeting, David.  We all enjoyed meeting and chatting with you.  Come back anytime!

9 Responses to “PHENOMENAL TANGENTS–pg 25(of 26), also: David Lloyd randomly stops by…”


  1. 09/04/2009 at 08:27

    That was awesome! Nichole was right, I look totally messed up in that last pic.

  2. 2 Rachel Ryan
    09/04/2009 at 08:48

    both my boyfriend and I agree that this is awesome! Congrats on the awesome meeting, we are uber jealous :)

  3. 3 lupiloops
    09/04/2009 at 10:50

    Super nice guy, too! I didn’t know he was on his way to Iceland. That’s so rad.
    I’m glad you got some good pictures.

  4. 09/04/2009 at 11:45

    Damn! I’m covering Kevin, I feel so bad. :( Sorry dude.

  5. 09/04/2009 at 22:30

    It was a very cool night, glad I made it. He’s a super nice guy and was awesome of him to hang out.

  6. 09/08/2009 at 10:21

    He just introduced himself to me as David, so I had no idea who he was. Seemed like a nice guy, the 3 seconds I talked to him.

    Glad everyone had a fun night out with him! Excuse me while I feel very stupid.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

