22
Aug
09

PHENOMENAL TANGENTS–pg 12(of 26)

pg 12

pg 12

    AHH!  Dear lord, HEADULON!  What has become of you!?!?

   This was fun to draw, but it took me several attempts to nail down the ever-evolving DR HEADULON.  Again, we refer to one of STEVE‘s original sketches…

sketch--stwalley-headulon2

As you can see from both this sketch and the one I posted yesterday (pg 11), STEVE had a  much different idea of how HEADULONs melon should look.  STEVE was going for a much more expanding brain kinda thing.  I did many sketches in an attempt to capture what STEVE was going for, but I just couldn’t nail it.  It just looked weird to me, and I wasn’t having any fun drawing it.  So I eventually hit upon the idea of just making his WHOLE head big.  I also think STEVE generally did a better job in designing the above look, but when I did some drawings of that I realized the massive scale of HEADULON would make ants of HIP-HOP and TEN-FIVE for the rest of the story, so I went on a smaller scale.  I also thought it would be fun to pay homage to DOC OCK with the tentacles.  Not that Kirby created Doc Ock or anything, I just figured all super-powered “Doctors” shopped at the same store.

  (And about the Doc Ock link–thats from a super cool website I just discovered called SPRINGFIELD PUNX, where a Canadian cartoonist named DEAN FRASER does wonderfully Springfield-ian versions of pop/nerd culture characters.  Check it out today, and go back often!)

0 Responses to “PHENOMENAL TANGENTS–pg 12(of 26)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


