19
Aug
09

CITYUS PAGEUS COMICUS ISSUEUS INTERRUPTUS

  Sorry to intrude on PHENOMENAL TANGENTS, but I thought today I should point out that I have a strip in this weeks issue of the CITY PAGES “COMIX ISSUE”.  Its pretty amazing it made it in, and here’s why:

CP2009

   Yep.  I pissed all over’em, and they are paying me to do so.  Pretty sweet.  I figured I will now take the opportunity to post those previously censored and “lost” strips I did the last couple of years.  Lets start with the 2007 submission deemed “potentially slanderous”:

CP2007

  Ok, I admit there is some “questionable” jokes here, but nothing I think is “potentially slanderous” (except possibly my rendering of the Metrodome).  I think it’s cause I dissed Democrats in the Bush era before Stewart and Colbert made that kinda thing OK.  Whatever.  This comic went on to be the image for the month of May in ALTERED ESTHETICS 2008 calendar.  And if it was the image of Muslim Congressperson Keith Ellisonwith a bomb strapped to himself yelling “JIHAD!” that made City Pages cringe, they should know the original art for this strip sold at a silent auction, and was purchased by a African-American Muslim male who thought it was hilarious.  Waahhh-WAAAHHHH!!!     Moving on to 2008’s “lost” strip…

CP2008

   (FUN FACT:  I drew this the day–but hours before–Obama actually was named the TAXANDSPENDOCRAT candidate.)

   To be fair, CITY PAGES “lost” a lot of submissions that year.  As a consequence, they received very few this year.  They have lived, and they have learned.  I just thought it would be funny to do a pro-right comic for an issue that was more or less supposed to be totally all anti-right (since the RNC was coming to town). 

   At any rate, I’m done being mad at the City Pages. They didn’t ignore what I had to say with this years strip, and they didn’t feel the need to censor its publication to save their own cabooses.  Should print and the City Pages still exist next year I’ll do a strip that takes no shots at them.  I will however still go after anyone (DEM or GOP) who deserves it.  I’m looking at you, Pawlenty!  You too, Obama!

   Hey speaking of newsprint, you can still see the BIG FUNNY show and buy a copy in person at ALTERED ESTHETICS gallery until SATURDAY AUGUST 29th.  If that doesn’t work for you, copies can be purchased online here.

10 Responses to “CITYUS PAGEUS COMICUS ISSUEUS INTERRUPTUS”


  1. 1 lupiloops
    08/19/2009 at 10:24

    those are both hilarious. Nice Franken.

  2. 08/19/2009 at 12:58

    That’s amazing. I have no idea how they let that in. You are now like a god. I can’t wait to see it in print!

  3. 08/19/2009 at 20:55

    Just to clarify things I did get paid.

  4. 08/20/2009 at 09:43

    I said that just in case I was the guy who said, “And I never got paid!”

  5. 08/24/2009 at 00:53

    i am deeply, deeply offended at your proper use of irony. i hope next year you stay FAR AWAY from the co-ops here!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


