01
Aug
09

“phil, the evil bean of doom” pg 6(of 8)

art by Dan Murphy, words by Danno Klonowski

art by Dan Murphy, words by Danno Klonowski

   DAN MURPHY(www.murphycommadan.com) and I used to make comics together. It was the 90’s. What do you want from us?

DAN MURPHY: Panel 1–I think I channeled Image Comics in this panel.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  By law, we had to mention them at least once.  It may be almost McFarlane-esque here, but you Sir are no fat, overweight tracer.  So hold your head up high.

DAN MURPHY: Panel 2–It’s Johnny Victim! Dan and I were commissioned by a mom of one of his friends to draw a brochure or something on animal(?) safety or something. Out of that came us thinking up multiple horrible deaths the character (who we named Johnny Victim) we created would go through.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Ummm…that’s where that came from???  Are you sure you aren’t dreaming this?  I don’t NOT believe you, it just seems odd a couple of high school goofs like us were ever commissioned to do anything.  But I guess I’ll defer to you on this since I have no memory of this.

DAN MURPHY:  Panel 3–You get to pick your own correct perspective in this one, there’s multiple to choose from.
DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Yeah, but YOUR Al Capone and Jimmy Hoffa gags makes up for all of it.
DAN MURPHY:  Panel 4–I like this last panel a lot.
DANNO KLONOWSKI:  Agreed.
2 Responses to ““phil, the evil bean of doom” pg 6(of 8)”


  1. 08/01/2009 at 20:57

    In my swiss cheese memory I want to think it was Josh Reznicow’s mom or something, and we were supposed to do these drawings for a brochure or pamphlet, to show kids how to be safe around dogs or animals or something,maybe it was for a school or neighborhood thing. Can’t remember if we finished it or whatever became of it, but Johnny Victim was the character we thought up, cuz I can’t imagine why we’d create him otherwise. I remember it because I thought it was cool to be “commisioned” to do something though I don’t know if we got paid for it.

    I maybe wrong though and my mind was simply too destroyed by Grunge and Raves and 90210 and Melrose Place and Flannel.

  2. 08/02/2009 at 00:56

    Josh’s mom fits. She works for the Humane Society.

    …The rest is pure rubbish.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


